Was up nice and early, 4:30 AM! Was in the gym and pushing iron by 5:30. I like to get my workout in as early as possible – it puts me in a good mood for the rest of the workday and frees up my evening! (Although it usually makes me go to bed early, haha) It also usually means a fairly empty gym, or at least no curl bros. Crankly old ppl yes, but not many jackasses.

The idea here was to high rep chest at normal tempo, then mid-rep back work with slow negs. Mix it up a bit!

Oct 22 – Chest, Back

Part 1 – Chest – (high reps, normal tempo, about 45 sec b/w all sets)

warmup – 15 lb DBs going through ROM to warmup my rotator cuff. 3 sets of 15 with no rest, back and forth arm to arm. I normally do 4 sets but my shoulders already felt tired so I cut the warmup short.

Decline Bench (I hate this one gym’s decline bench, I always underperform on it. maybe its the angle I dont like? the bar is too close to the rack when I lower it? whine whine whine!)
135 x 15
135 x 15
135 x 15
155 x 13
No need to comment on my slackass weight, it makes me sad enough as it is.

Incline DB Press
65s x 15
65s x 10
55s x 15
55s x 15
I knew right away my shoulder was in no shape for this. I barely made it through the second set and wisely decided to drop the weight to keep going. Maybe my upper body was more burnt out from Monday than I thought!

Pec Deck
130 x 15
130 x 15
130 x 10
130 x 12

Part 2 Back (3 second negative on all reps, 45 sec b/w sets)

Closegrip Cable Rows
150 x 10
150 x 10
150 x 10
150 x 10

Underhand Pulldown
150 x 10
150 x 10
150 x 8
150 x 10

These 2 movements actually made me mad. I really wanted to superset them together, but they got tied up by an older lady and 2 skinny dudes of a big age gap (either father and son or a May-October romance), who plopped down in front of both stations then proceeded to shoot the breeze with each other INSTEAD of work out! I had to ask to trade sets with both of them, and gave up on my superset dream.

Actually, the lady was quite nice about it, but the skinny dudes rolled their eyes at me, like it was SUCH an inconvenience. Made me want to slap them, but I smiled and did my reps and moved on. Not like I snapped on them when they occupied the space then socialized with each other, should have!

I think the 2 guys were talking about training for a marathon, the New York marathon or something. Hopefully that explains why their lifts sucked ass.

T-Bar Row (I was cranky, so I dropped the rest times to 30 seconds!! Still 3 sec negs)
80 pounds in plates + sled X 10
80 x 10
105 x 9
105 x 8
I find slow neg t-bar rows REALLY hard. I can normally lift more, but when I try to slow the descent, I need to go quite light. I just try and deal with it

Widegrip Machine Row (back to 45 sec rest)
100 x 15
80 x 20
80 x 20
90 x 15
Just tried to burn it out with high reps. As soon as I couldn’t stop myself from leaning back to try and make it easier, I stopped. Got real hard in the teens, even at that light-ass weight!

