Another 4:30 AM wakeup call. I decided it had been TOO LONG since Leg Day, so what better way to fight off the cold weather than by sweating your guts out? I admit, I was feeling nervous about this leg day, but that’s ok. Nervous and upset stomach are the best leg days! Digging yourself out of the **** is what builds character.

Oct 24 – Quads, Calves
(3 sec negatives on all reps, TRIED to keep about 45 sec b/w all sets)

Barbell Squats ATG
135 x 20
135 x 11
135 x 10 I got overheated and had to walk around for 90 seconds, I couldn’t maintain the 45 sec rest, considered puking, haha
135 x 10

Slow negative high rep ATG kicked my butt! I tried to make the slow neg happen by activating my hamstrings consciously on the way down, kind of like a PULL. When I couldn’t maintain the cadence anymore I stopped. When I couldn’t stay calm anymore I stopped. As you can see, I only was able to hit 20 reps on the first set, so maybe my conditioning was what failed first. 45 seconds is so short! Sometimes I forget that.

My abs were also sore still (sad right? from monday? goes to show I should probably hit abs more often), so my core was probably about to wear out soon if my conditioning hadn’t. My core has always been the weak point of my squat.

What I really could have used was a partner shouting at me to keep me from psyching myself out. Oh well, it was a learning experience

Hack Squats to just below parallel
4 plates x 8
4 plates x 8
4 plates x 8
4 plates x 8 DROP 3 plates x 4 DROP 2 plates x 4 DROP 1 plate x 6

I forced myself to keep the 45 sec rest period, so I was sweating like mad after this! Form got sloppy near the end, to be honest I ended up bracing my hands on my thighs a few times near the end, so prob about 4 or 5 bad reps in there.

One Legged Leg Press Machine
180 x 20/20
180 x 20/20
180 x 20/20
180 x 20/20

Normally I like to go with no rest, back and forth leg to leg, but I NEEDED the 40-45 sec break on this one, and took it. Keeping the 3 second negatives was MURDER, even though the weight was really doable. This machine had a digital clock, so I made sure those 3 seconds happened for real, because my mind was running ragged and it would have been easy to count way too fast.

My legs were getting real tired at that point, I had to close my eyes and just go somewhere else mentally, thankfully the machine counted my reps too, cause I couldn’t afford to send any blood to my brain, my legs needed it all, haha! Seriously, I got off the machine, grabbed a paper towel, sprayed it with cleaner, then threw the spray bottle right in the garbage without thinking! Had to fish it back out.

Leg Extensions
160 x 10
160 x 7
160 x 7
160 x 7

Just carve out as many reps as you can.

Standing Calf Raise Machine
320 x 8
320 x 8
320 x 6
320 x 8 DROP 260 x 7 DROP 200 x 10

Seated Calf Raise
150 x 8 DROP 115 x 7 DROP 80 x 7 DROP 45 x 10
150 x 7 DROP 115 x 5 DROP 80 x 7 DROP 45 x 10
150 x 7 DROP 115 x 5 DROP 80 x 7 DROP 45 x 10
150 x 5 DROP 115 x 5 DROP 80 x 7 DROP 45 x 10

I love the seated calf raise. I figured why not finish off with 4 triple drop sets I see so many people do the seated calf raise so lazy, just the midrange ROM. Use the whole range guys! Go down past parallel, dip your heels, then POINT your toes and extend all the way to the top.

The workout was only just over an hour, but it wore my ass out! I took a scoop of Fast Fuel 40 min before the workout, and I knew this workout was gonna run me through my weak areas (squats and high rep slow negs), so I took a second scoop of Fast Fuel during the workout, along with the ReGen.

I was doing SLOW ATG squats for max reps by 5:30 AM. I figure I paid my dues for the day 😛

