I had to play some catch-up!  Saturday Chest and Biceps and Sunday Rest Day got switched.  I took my gimp calves and hobbled down to the gym.  I took a scoop of Fast Fuel 30 min before I lifted up a dumbbell, and took a scoop of Fast Fuel and a scoop of ReGen during the workout, another ReGen scoop during the cardio.  They taste well together (Blue Razz and Lemon Lime) and no issues mixing, little to no residue on the sides; I didn’t need to reshake during the workout!

Oct 25 – Chest, Biceps
(3 sec negative on every rep, 45 sec b/w all sets)

Rotator Cuff warmup – 15 lb DB taken through ROM 15 times, back and forth arm to arm with no rest for 4 sets

Incline Dumbbell Press about 30 degree incline
55s x 10
55s x 10
55s x 10
55s x 10

I could feel my shoulder getting tired, so I made Inclines my first movement.  Nice and slow negative with an explosive positive, keeping the DBs from resting at the top by not bringing my hands too close together.  Got a good stretch out of it too.

Decline Press Machine
160 x 8
160 x 7
160 x 5
120 x 8

I thought a machine would be better to exhaust myself on than a barbell.  I was starting to tucker out fast on those slow negatives!  I don’t think I like this machine all that much, would rather go back to the barbell, even if it was easier on my shoulder.

Cable Fly  (lowered rest to 30 sec)
80 x 10
60 x 10
60 x 10
60 x 8

I really like this particular cable machine, so I went back to it, experimenting with the straightness of my arms and just getting a good stretch and squeeze.

Bench Press Machine
150 x 12
110 x 13
90 x 15
70 x 13

I went to use this as a finisher, and whoo boy was my chest tired!  It was very humbling actually, I feel bad having to type those weights in my log… By that point I had no gas left, and COULD NOT control the negatives for very long – right when I hit the teens I couldn’t control the descent, so the reps you see are not a result of me not being able to lift it, but me not being able to maintain a 3 second negative, or not being able to keep my lower back on the chair.  I kept dropping the weight and it kept not making a difference.  It was pure agony at that point.  So from that perspective, a good finisher!  But I already knew past 8-10 reps my slow rep energy tanks.

Preacher Curl Machine (arm rests at eye level)
100 x 8
100 x 8
120 x 8
140 x 8 DROP 100 x 8 DROP 80 x 5 DROP 60 x 6

I like this machine, having the arm rests so high up is sweet!  Part of exploring the full ROM meant bringing my arm completely straight, which can be tough for me with my bad elbows.  So slow neg bicep work is just as much about strengthening my joints as anything else.

Dumbbell Preacher Curls (one arm at a time, wrists broken)
40s x 8/8
40s x 8/8
40s x 8/8
40s x 8/8 DROP 30s x 6/7 DROP 25s x 5/5 DROP 20s x 4/7

I hope you realize for the drop sets I stayed on one arm, I didn’t keep going back and forth arm to arm, that would defeat the purpose   So, a triple drop set on the left arm, then a triple drop set on the right.  Keeping your wrists unlocked only adds to the difficulty, it means you can’t use your forearms to help as much.

Again, the toughest part of this is lowering a dumbbell with control into a straight arm with the weight pulling down on your joint.  Obviously, you can’t go heavy with that caveat, so it isn’t a weight competition.  I still think I did alright using a 40, and in the end I think I only got my arms 90-95% straight.  Even at that point, I could feel myself pass way beyond the strongest part of my bicep ROM, so that part was a success, tapping the extremes for growth.

Overhead Cable Curl
70 x 20
70 x 13
70 x 15
70 x 15 REST PAUSE for a few seconds, did another 5 reps

Another nice finisher, although I noticed that my biceps seem to have more endurance than my chest.  Food for thought.  Overhead cable curls might be my favorite finisher, not too stressful on a straight arm, given where the pull is coming from.

While doing this finisher, I got to witness an amusing battle of the sexes.  A young guy was using the 45 degree leg press.  A hot young woman in a nice outfit starts to saunter around his periphery.  He notices her, and asks, “did you want to use this machine?”  She responds, “I don’t really know HOW” (using that inflection women use when they want to be coy).  He, however, does not take the bait, and instead lamely replies, “do you want to trade in and out?”  She says no that’s ok, then finds the nearest machine to his leg press, which was a standing leg curl machine, and starts using that, sticking her (cute) butt out in his general direction the whole time.

He, however, is completely oblivious, finishes his set and walks away.  The whole time I can only chuckle to myself.  She notices me checking her butt out, and maybe derives some sense of satisfaction from that, although I was half-laughing at her.  Its fun watching hot girls get shot down in the gym!  I thought of the old guy in the cave at the end of the Indiana Jones movie… “She chose… poorly…”  In other words, she should have flirted with me, I would have spotted that gym bunny for a good hour!  Instead, she just exposed how weak her game was.

post-wo cardio
Elliptical for 30 min, if only to help loosen up my calves

And then I came home and caught up on tv.  And I was NOT disappointed!  I just watched Precious have sex with a minotaur!  That just happened, now in my brain forever.

