Well, my mood was much improved today, I think I am turning the corner, at least in relieving stress through exercise.  As for my cold, the cough is starting to settle into my chest, so I am worried about pneumonia.  When you’ve had it, you can get it more easily in the future, or so the folk tale goes.  I know what it feels like though, it’s like a crackle at the bottom of your cough.  Let’s hope I avoid that!

Was running short of time, so I rushed down to the gym, phlegm-y cough and all, to try and bust out a quick workout before I went to the movie theatre (decided to finally go see Gravity in 3D).  I gave myself 40 min to workout, take a shower, get back on the road!

I took a scoop of Fast Fuel 20 min before and mixed a scoop of that with a scoop of ReGen during the workout.  After the workout I had a scoop of ReGen mixed with a little extra Creatine HCl.

Nov 3 – Chest, Biceps
(regular tempo, 45 sec b/w all sets)

warmup rotator cuff – 12.5 DB taken through range of motion 15 times per arm, back and forth arm to arm with no rest, for 4 sets

Incline DB Press
65s x 15
65s x 15
65s x 13
65s x 9

Have I mentioned before how glad I am Fast Fuel and ReGen mix so well?  I was worried the pwo and the intra would clash taste-wise, the Blue Razz and the Lemon-Lime, but they blend together quite nicely.

Decline BB Press
155 x 15
155 x 10
155 x 7
155 x 7

I was running out of energy, chest endurance is one of my weak points, and I didn’t want to take the time to take plates off the bar, so I just kept it at 155.  On the clock here!

Pec Deck
120 x 15
120 x 13
120 x 10
120 x 9

This was the test to see if my shoulders were tired or my chest.  In the past I have failed out of presses when the flys were just fine, but in this case they were grinding to a halt as well, even with a slightly lighter weight.  Guess the chest didn’t have a lot in the tank today!

Seated DB Curl
30s x 15
30s x 15
30s x 15
30s x 15

I wanted to use the 35s, but one guy was using one set, and with the 2nd set I could only find ONE DB, so I said screw it and grabbed the 30s.  Just seconds after I walked away, another guy showed up looking to use the 35s as well.  35 lb DBs, the universal curl weight, hahaha!  Gym, please stock up on 35 lb dumbbells.

Since I dropped the weight, I took the time to really do nice controlled reps through the whole ROM, that means twisting the pinky at the top, and bringing it down until my arm is straight and I can squeeze my tricep (which gave me a nice sensation callback to yesterdays workout).  You can’t stop at all in the bottom position or else you are letting the weight hang, so I would bring it down slow all the way to the bottom, contract the tricep for the sensation, then bring it back up.

Cable Curls  closegrip
90 x 15
90 x 15
90 x 15
90 x 13

I took these over straight bar curls because my left elbow was still a little tweaked, and cable curls are usually painfree for my joints.

My biceps were getting tired, my mind was halfway out the door, and during the last set this weird dude walks nearby, looked like Chocolate Rain was wearing a competitive bicycle rider’s mesh top and shorts, and threw a big wool sweater on top of that.  He was just walking around, found his spot, took off his wool sweater, showed off his 11 inch arm cannons to the world.

All these distractions threw off my focus and I failed out of the last set, haha.

And then I was done!  Light and fast-paced, in and out.  Took about 45 min total, then showered, then watched Gravity (maybe it was just an excuse to eat popcorn, haha).

