Reunited and it feels so good!

Back in the gym by 5:30 AM, slangin plates!  Squat Day!

I had the squats to do, some slow neg assistance work, then back home for breakfast and off to work.  Because I am easing my way back into it though after my crappy illness, I took the drop sets off the end of the assistance work.  Just straight sets.

I felt real good though!  Should be hitting 100% of my routine by the weekend.

Week 1 Squat Day

Warmup (about 1-2 min b/w  sets) Squats below parallel (dare I say ATG?)

120 x 5
150 x 5
180 x 3

Main (about 3 min b/w sets) below parallel

195 x 5
225 x 5
255 x 5

Assistance (45 sec b/w sets, about 60 sec b/w exercises, 4 sec negative on every Leg rep)

45 Degree Leg Press feet high and wide
4 plates x 8
8 plates x 8
12 plates x 8
12 plates x 8

Leg Extension
140 x 8
140 x 8
140 x 8
140 x 8

Seated Leg Curl leaning forward
140 x 8
140 x 8
140 x 8
140 x 8

Weighted Crunch Machine (regular tempo, 30 sec b/w sets)
50 lbs x 10
50 lbs x 10
50 lbs x 10
50 lbs x 10

For the squats, I had gotten some feedback lately that I have not been going low enough.  Which is totally fair.  So I set the cage below my knees and squatted until my stomach was getting squeezed against/between my thighs.  You feel the change when that happens, its like the air starts to get pushed out and I grunt a bit.

Looking in the mirror, my core is weak out of the pocket, and I have a tendency to start to lean forward and then correct myself on the way up.  This is why I need that full length mirror when I squat, I need to check if I keep my core tight when I start to come up.

Not gonna lie, I am still new enough to squats that I get nervous when there is more than 225 on the bar.  But I will adapt and overcome!

Leg Press felt real good, just to chance to do some slow stretches with the legs and hips and glutes.

The extensions and curls were great because I totally relied on the clock built into the machine to make sure I stuck 100% to the 4 sec negative.

For the leg curls I don’t know what the problem was, but I kept sliding around in the seat.  Maybe that meant the weight was too high if I couldn’t keep my butt against the chair, but I have done that weight before.  I wanted to go do prone curls, but some old dude was using it, so whatevs.

The crunch machine was some sort of chair contraption where you load the plates behind your head, grab the handles over your head and crunch forward.  It feels pretty sweet actually

Scoop of Fast Fuel 25 min before the workout, a scoop during along with a scoop of ReGen, and a scoop fo ReGen and some extra Creatine HCl after (maybe 750 mg).

Best workout I have had in a week and a half!  Hooray for Leg Day!  Leg Day to the rescue!

