Shoulder day!  I took a scoop of Fast Fuel, but cut my water in half this time to see if I could get it to come on faster and repeat the tingly lips feeling from Friday.  I had the aftertaste sensation again, but no tingly lips.

Unfortunately, the energy came on quicker… but I was still stuck on the bus.  So the first scoop ended up being about 45 min before I touched a weight.  I had another scoop of Fast Fuel during the workout, and a scoop of ReGen, workout was about an hour, then a scoop of ReGen and 750 mg of creatine HCl after.

Week 1 Standing Military Press Day

 

Warmup (about 2 min b/w sets, including time it took to do the rotator cuff work)

45 x 5 supersetted w taking a 10 lb plate through rotator cuff ROM 20 times

55 x 5 & rotator cuff

65 x 3 & rotator cuff

 

Main (about 2-3 min b/w sets, including pullups)

70 x 5 supersetted w 5 assisted pullups

80 x 5 & 5 assisted pullups

90 x 12 & 10 assisted pullups  PR

 

notes:  the shoulder press is the one area of 5/3/1 I expect to see the most variation between good and bad days, due to a past sprain.  Some days the area is just tired!  Silver lining is that it is the movement I expect to see the most improvement in.

My past personal best was only me getting used to the movement now that I finally had some strength back in that area, so I think my calculated one rep max for this cycle might be a little conservative.  But then again, one of the key principles of 5/3/1 is start too light, so as long as I go after those final sets honestly and fully, I should see lots of improvements in my shoulders.

As it is, I knew that as long as I hit 10 reps with 90 pounds, that would be a new personal best.  And I hit 12!  So it was a good day 🙂

 

Assistance (45 sec b/w sets, about 60 sec b/w exercises, 4 sec negative on every rep)

Side Raise Machine

60 x 8

60 x 8

70 x 8

80 x 8 DROP 60 x 3 DROP 50 x 3 DROP 40 x 3

 

Cable Upright Row

60 x 8

70 x 8

80 x 8

90 x 10

 

Cable Rear Delt Fly

50 x 8

50 x 8

50 x 8

50 x 6 DROP 40 x 5 DROP 30 x 6

 

Bicep Curl Machine

90 x 8

90 x 8

100 x 8

120 x 8 DROP 100 x 5 DROP 80 x 4 DROP 60 x 6

 

Back to the slow negs and the drop sets, awww yeah!!  The gym was rather busy, so I had to take the drop sets out of the upright rows, I had to give the spot up to some dude, who looked fairly impatient I was doing the reps so SLOOOOOW, haha.

I used digital clocks when available (whether on the machine itself, or if there was a wall mounted tv playing the Weather Channel) to make sure I did 4 second negatives.  When not available, I know when I get stressed my counting speeds up, so I would count in my head to 4, then take a breath, then count to 3 or 4 again, for good measure.

The rear delt flys are especially interesting with that amont of slow timing.  The weight is light but you just can’t control anymore, you lose form very quickly.

So overall a good session!  PWO kept my head in the zone and my shoulder felt real good, so hit a PR where it counted!

