Bench Day!

I have some travelling to do at the end of the week, so I am trying to cram all my workouts together, with no rest days.  I might end up regretting it, but for now, on with the show!

Was at the gym by 5:30 AM for Bench work.

Workout 1 – AM
Week 3 Bench Press Day

Warmup (1-2 min between sets, including time to do face pulls)

95 x 5/ 40 lb face pulls x 20
135 x 5/ 40 lb face pulls x 20
150 x 3/ 40 lb face pulls x 20

Main  (3 min between sets, including time to do pullups)

190 x 5/5 pullups
215 x 3/5 pullups
240 x 4/8 pullups

notes:  I only got 4, so no PR, but oh wellz.

Assistance

flat db press (45 sec between sets, 4 sec negative on every rep)
65s x 8
65s x 8
65s x 8
65s x 8

superset decline bb bench & pullups (back and forth, no rest, regular tempo)
135 x 15 / 5 pullups
135 x 15 / 5 pullups
135 x 15 / 6 pullups

notes:  declines felt great!  got a good pump, and felt better than I have doing these in the past.

seated cable fly (45 sec b/w sets, 4 sec negatives)
80 x 8
70 x 8
70 x 8
60 x 5 DROP 50 x 3 DROP 40 x 4 DROP 30 x 6

notes:  getting nice and tired now, haha.

Then headed off to work!  Work was really dead, so I slipped out at lunch to do some quick Arm work at the company gym.  My coworker came too, and I spotted him a few times on bench.

Workout 2 – Lunchtime Arms (regular tempo on all sets)

seated db curls (45 sec b/w sets, started each set off alternating arms but as I got tired, did them together)
35s x 15
35s x 15
35s x 15
35s x 11

ez bar curl (45 sec b/w sets)
75 x 15
75 x 15
75 x 15
75 x 15

notes:  was getting a major skin stretching pump in my biceps at this point, but my elbows were getting sore

skullcrushers (45 sec rest b/w sets)
75 x 13
75 x 11
75 x 9

notes:  this was dumb – my elbows started groaning right away.  So I only did 3 sets, and moved on to another exercise

one arm cable pushdown (rope attachment, back and forth arm to arm, no rest)
45 x 15/15
45 x 15/15
45 x 15/15
45 x 15/15

notes:  I love doing one arm with the rope because I can get a massive squeeze at full contraction, it was agony getting through these, but at least my elbows weren’t bothered too much.

This kicked my ass, but… woops!  I had a conditioning session with my trainer in the evening.  3 trips to the gym in one day?  That might have been a little dumb, haha.

I slipped out of work early, and made it to the studio early, my eyes were so droopy I almost fell asleep on the way over.  I walked in the studio just BEAT.  There weren’t a lot of clients being trained and only 2 trainers there, so I set up a mat hidden behind the heavy bag, used a sandbag as pillow, draped my towel over me, and took a nap, right on the gym floor!

One trainer asked me what I was doing, and I said I was doing “breathing exercises for yoga”.  I ended up napping for about 30 min, and woke up refreshed!  Mellow and tired out of my ass, but somewhat refreshed.

No pics of my conditioning session, frankly, I was pathetic, and dragging my ass up and down the whole gym.  I could barely even do a pushup without my core sagging like an old man’s underwear, so I was borderline useless.

Workout 3 – Evening Conditioning Drills

My trainer had me do time on the stationary bike, on the elliptical, did sets of step ups, kettlebell swings, Australian pullups, mountain climbers, footwork with the rope ladder and with the cones, burpees with my crappy pushup form lol.  The hour went by quick, and I really did look like ****, but oh well, it was a long day!

The rest of the week needs to be less hectic than this, this wore my dumb ass right out!

