Press Day

Had to run some errands for work, and wrapped them up early, so… why not sneak in a gym trip?  Better to beg for forgiveness than to ask for permission.

How could the gym be packed at 3 pm on a Wednesday??  Ridiculous.  I grabbed a free squat rack for me to do OHP with (too lazy to clean!)

Week 3 Overhead Press Day

Warmup (1-2 min between press sets, including the time it took to do face pulls)
45 x 5 & Face Pulls 40 lbs x 20
55 x 5 & 40 x 20
65 x 3 & 40 x 20

Main  (2-3 min between pressing sets, including the time it took to do the pullups)
80 x 5 & 5 widegrip pullups
90 x 3 & 8 pullups
100 x 12 PR

notes:  My elbow was tweaking a bit on the light sets, but when I went for the AMRAP set it felt really good so I kept going.  I was eager to do some Jokers, but a young guy asked me if he could use my rack to do squats in… fair is fair I don’t want to hog a squat rack when someone wants to do actual squats in them.  So I did my last set as I said, then gave it up to the other guy and went to do assistance work instead.  (There was a 2nd rack, but there was a girl doing squats in them and some really good ones too!  Can’t discourage that)

Assistance

Side Raise Machine (45 sec b/w sets, 4 sec neg on all reps)
80 x 6
80 x 6
80 x 5
60 x 8 DROP 50 x 4 DROP 40 x 4 DROP 30 x 6

notes:  Left shoulder was groaning on these, felt very weak!  Found it extra hard to control the negatives, must be rusty.

Cable Upright Rows (45 sec rest, 4 sec negs)
90 x 8
90 x 8
100 x 8
110 x 8 DROP 90 x 8 DROP 70 x 5

notes:  During the drop sets I just lost all interest in doing this movement.  I didn’t feel like it was hitting my traps the way I wanted it to, so I might stop doing slow neg upright rows for a while.  I only really feel it on the positive, and on the negative it is too easy to only feel it in the arms when you slow it down.  So maybe high rep is the only way for me to get the feels I want.

Cable Reverse Fly (30 sec rest, regular tempo)
55 x 15
55 x 15
55 x 15
55 x 15

Finished up with rear delts, then went back to work.  I would have rather just done OHP for an hour then a few rear delt flys, but I adapted to a busy gym.

Not a bad shoulder workout to sneak in, another PR!  Feels like my shoulders are rehabbing quite nicely.  More to the point, moving past the point of “rehab” meaning being able to carry out the basic movements fluidly and fully, and now feel ready to quickly build strength.

