It’s the scariest day of the month!  Week 3 Squats Day – Heavy Singles.  Almost Xmas, no spotter, no way out.  Time to build some character!  I took my preworkout 30 min before.  I also took a glass of milk to coat my stomach a bit… that detail will come up again later.

Cycle 2 Week 3 Squats

Warmup (1-2 min rest)
115 x 5
155 x 5
185 x 3

notes:  The first warmup set felt REALLY messed up, I had to shrug it up once to try and rebalance it.  I thought maybe I was gonna have a bad day.  But when I changed the weights I realized I had put a 25 on one side and a 35 on the other… whoops!  No wonder the reps felt like crap.  Always doublecheck!!

During the last warmup set, I vomited milk into my mouth.  Just a bit.  Lovely!  Milk was a bad choice…

Main  (2-3 min rest)
230 x 5
260 x 3
290 x 2

notes:  On the last set, the first rep was fine, on the second rep, I got stuck in the middle and my core gave out a bit and I bowed forward.  Needed a second solid grunt to finish pushing it up.  Normally I would stop there, but I was hungry for a PR!  Decided to do some heavy Joker singles.  Waited 3 min, and went for it…

Joker Set
315 x 0

notes:  Fuuuu….

I took a decent rest, not long enough to get cold, but long enough.  A girl next to me was done her squatting set (I see a lot more female squatters this year, I believe I have the Interwebs to thank for that), she saw 3 wheels and decided to lean back and watch my set.  No pressure or anything, ha!

I went down, came back up.  Got stuck in the middle again, let out a second grunt, didn’t budge.  Muttered “nope!” to myself and started to sink back down…

Important time now to discuss failing without a spotter.  I had set myself up in the cage first off, so not a big deal overall.  I slowly lowered myself back down into ATG.  Luckily this is fairly comfortable for me, with my time in yoga.  It feels a lot like “garland pose”, except with 315 pounds sitting on top of you!  Knees beside my ribcage.  I let the momentum die down, kept it steady until it was all a dead stop.  I would rather not shrug the weight off while it still had momentum.  I lightly shrugged it backwards, felt it roll off my shoulders a bit, land evenly on the cage, not a lot of clatter.  And that was that.  Nice try, no dice.  Core was obviously not holding up, so I moved on to assistance.

No PRs.  Curse you squats!  You remain my most elusive foe.

Assistance

One Leg Horizontal Leg Press Machine 30 sec rest
255 x 12/12
255 x 12/12
255 x 12/12
255 x 12/12

notes:  the 45 degree was occupied, so I used this one.  Just as well anyways, since I had maxed out the 45 degree machine last week.  Using one leg is also more hard than just half of both legs.  I can do more than 510 with both legs, but the stabilization makes it more than twice as hard to go down to one leg, does that make sense?  Anyways, I pretend they’re lunges and it saves me from doing lunges, LOL.

Seated Leg Curls about 45 sec rest, leaning forward the whole time
180 x 15
180 x 15
180 x 15
180 x 15

notes:  during this time a personal trainer walks up and asks if I would like to try a Body Pump class.  F NO!!  Tired, legs turning to jelly, vomiting milk and with a pronounced gas problem (Friday night shenanigans), not the time for a cardio class, thanx.

Leg Extensions about 45 sec rest
150 x 15
150 x 15
150 x 15
150 x 15

Weighted Crunches about 30 sec rest, ABCore chair, weights load behind head
60 x 10
60 x 10
60 x 10
60 x 8

notes:  you might wonder how I decided what counts as a rep or not.  At full extension my low back must touch the back of the chair, and at full contraction my elbows will end up touching my thighs (my hands are gripping overhead handles).  On that last set, I couldn’t really touch elbows to thighs any more, so it was OVAH!  Time for home.

