DL Day!  I had one goal in mind… 4 wheels.  Repeated the same weekend pattern, woke up, had some food, had a nap, had a little more food, had my Beta Test and Uncut and NO Uptake, headed to gym.

Cycle 2 Week 3 Deadlifts (double overhand at the start, conventional stance)

Warmup (1-2 min rest)
125 x 5
155 x 5
185 x 3

Main  (2-3 min rest)
235 x 5
265 x 3
295 x 3 (switched to crossgrip from this point forwards)

notes:  Feeling good, controlling the negatives.  Felt ready to make a run at the title.

Joker Sets  (2-3 min rest)
325 x 1
355 x 1
385 x 1 PR
405 x 1 PR

notes:  Yeah!!

Not much to say.  I could have maybe even gone further, but this isn’t a race.  4 Joker Sets was plenty.  Plus I had been going for about 45 min, and I wanted to get in a Spin class, which was starting in 5 min.  So I got ready to leave.

But as I was putting the plates away… I saw an older gentleman doing a circuit of exercises:  bent over rows, bicep curls, upright rows.  Earlier I had seen him doing bench press.  When he did bench press his elbows flared out heavy to the sides, ok so be it.  When he was doing bicep curls, he kept throwing his back into it, so be it.  But when he did upright rows, he kept lifting until the weight was at full arm extension above his head, wrists draped awkwardly over the bar, praying mantis style.

So what do I do?  Normally I say, NVM, no one likes getting advice in the gym.  But I did 4 wheels today, so my confidence was high.  So I walk over, “Excuse me Sir, I don’t want to interrupt but can I offer some totally unwanted advice?”  He says sure.  I talk about rotator cuffs.  I talk about isolating the biceps.  I talk about 45 degree angles with the elbows on the bench.  To my utter astonishment, he soaks it all up!  He starts asking me questions, I show him how to do Face Pulls, I talk about exercises he can do for his back, is it worth it to hire a Trainer.  He tells me he is just repeating what someone showed him years ago.

I probably buried him in info, so I tried to keep repeating my personal thoughts on upright rows and bench press, to keep him from blowing out his shoulder some day.  We ended up talking right there in the squat rack for about 20 minutes!  I missed the Spin class, but it seemed worth it.

Decided to leave on a high note and left for home, haha.  Know when to make your exit!

4 Wheels on DL was my last strength goal, alongside 3 wheels for Squats and 2 Wheels for Bench.  I hit my strength goals for the Fall/Winter, I now feel ready to cut   That will prob start mid-Jan.

