Cycle 3 Week 1 Squats

Warmup (1-2 min rest)

125 x 5
155 x 5
185 x 3

Main  (3 min rest)

200 x 5
235 x 5
265 x 5

notes: I admit to feeling a little nervous, since last squat day I failed out and got pinned down for a second by the bar.  It seems that what fails first on me is not my legs or glutes, but my core.  Even on that last set I was starting to bow forward.  So I took nice long rests between sets so I could go at these with seriousness.  But since there is such a disparity between legs and core, I realize I need the assistance work to finish me off.

Assistance

45 Degree Leg Press (feet high and wide, 2 min b/w sets)

16 plates x 12
20 plates x 12
20 plates x 12
22 plates x 10

Bcldyc6CAAE0evj

notes:  One is tempted to ask if I am e-bragging these presses and then doing ****e ROM

I admit, I am always conscious of this myself.  The fact is, legs go down until they press against my gut (feet high and wide help with this to give me more clearance), and until my butt is in danger of popping up off the low back rest.  Normal ROM, imo.  But nevertheless, I will concede there are some heavy advantages taking place here, otherwise why would my squats trail so far behind, ROFL.  So I only do it as assistance now, and only do it to finish my legs off.  OK?

But still, 22 plates!  oh yeahhhhhh

Standing Single Leg Curls (30 sec rest after both legs do their set)

90 x 15
90 x 15
90 x 13
90 x 10

notes:  really tried to keep the full ROM, as it is easy to drift into midrange when you get tired.  I find the extremes of the ROM are what kills me off especially on the standing curl, moreso than seated or prone machines.

Leg Extensions (45 sec rest)

160 x 15
160 x 13
160 x 12
160 x 10

notes:  figured my knees had recovered from the leg press, time for isolation!  It was clear my strength was gone as I was running out of gas.  Time for light ab work.

Roman Chair Knee Raises (30 sec rest)

10, 10, 10, 10

