Cycle 3 Week 1 DL

Warmup (1-2 min rest)

130 x 5
160 x 5
190 x 3

notes:  was interrupted for a bit by that old guy from the week prior.  Seems I have created a monster!  He wants to chat me up about his gym plans and form and stuff.  Crap… need to go to a new gym for a while, lol.  I also noticed a… pressure.  Not to be too crass, but I felt constipated.  And to be honest, I didn’t want to stop deadlifting, so I just worked through it.

Main  (2 min rest)

210 x 5
240 x 5
270 x 8

notes: The ****-pressure had now subsided, but now my low back was getting really sore.  Maybe related?  Carrying around an extra 3 pounds of mudbaby can wear your low back out at the gym??  My grip was fine, but because of the sore low back I could feel my back rounding a lot on the last set, so I decided to not do any extra DLs and move on to assistance work.

Assistance

Assisted Chinups (grip rotating each set from wide to underhand to hammer, 30 sec rest b/w sets)

6 wide
10 under
4 hammer
4 wide
6 under
4 hammer
3 wide
4 under

note:  my back felt tired as crap!  (hmmm, pun!)  I was stubborn though, and kept trying to get a few more pullups in there.  But it just wasn’t clicking.  So I tried a new angle.

Bent Over 1 Arm DB Rows (30 sec rest)

40 x 10
60 x 10
85 x 20

notes:  Just 2 warmup sets really, then one allout set with a fairly heavy weight.  I haven’t done this “Kroc-style” in a few weeks, and it seems to have paid off, hit 20 reps with the 85s finally!

Superset BW Hyperextensions and Weighted Crunches (30 sec rest b/w supersets, crunches done in an ABCore chair, weights load behind head)

BW x 10 / 60 x 10
BW x 10 / 60 x 7
BW x 10 / 60 x 10
BW x 10 / 60 x 10

notes:  these also felt pretty good.

After the workout, I spent some quality time in the WC

