Jan 16 – Back

Went to the gym after work.  Crowded!  Don’t care!  Get out the way!

Assisted Pullups (30 sec rest b/w each set, regularly varying grip)

8 widegrip
8 underhand grip
5 hammergrip
5 widegrip
6 underhand grip

notes:  Yeahhhhh, too fat to do an unassisted pullup.  And shut up!

Chest-supported T-Bar Rows (45 sec rest b/w sets, elbows pointed mid back)

135 x 8
135 x 8
135 x 7
135 x 8
135 x 7

Widegrip Pulldowns (45 sec rest, not leaning back, targeting upper back)

150 x 10
165 x 10
180 x 7
180 x 8
180 x 8

notes:  Soooo tempted to lean back, but I used to do that all the time and thought I was pretty hot poop until I tried NOT leaning back and realized I had been neglecting part of my back.  It has been a learning process remembering to both stay seated upright AND activate my lats and flare my chest, etc.  It is getting better though, although the upper back runs out of gas a lot faster than my mid back does.

One Arm Cable Row (45 sec rest, experimented with offhand placement)

105 x 10/10
90 x 10/10
90 x 10/10
97.5 x 10/10

notes:  I didn’t like 105, couldn’t feel the contraction, so I lightened it and slowly worked my way back up.  I tried with my offhand on my knee, and with my offhand behind me by my butt, and felt like keeping my arm back made my working side work that much harder.  Similar to 1 arm DB rows, it is easy to assist your working side with your offside back muscles, unless you take the time to extend them out of the movement.  Does that make sense?

Doing these one arm rows was also nice because it gave me a chance to see how that knot was doing I felt popping yesterday.  As I suspected, my right side was noticeably smoother and stronger than my left, so I will need that leftside knot worked on.  Unfortunately, my next acupressure appt is about a week and a half away, so I will have to make due, maybe I can foam roll it a few times.

Straight Arm Pulldowns w Rope

30 x 30, REST 70 sec, x 20, REST 50 sec, x 15, REST 35 sec, x 15, REST 20 sec, x 20

notes:  Does that make sense?  I work my way up to 100 reps, and decrease the rest as I do so.

I don’t know, I have a tough time feeling straight pulldowns.  I will keep hammering away at them though.

post-weights work

20 min on the elliptical
5 min spinal twists and prone back stretches
10 min in the sauna doing seated back stretches

