Jan 30 – Shoulders

In the gym by 6 AM.  I hate you winter!  But I love you empty gym!  Cold winters make New Years Resolutioners fade out like a fart in the wind.

[B]Superset Cable Arnold presses + reverse pec deck flys (thumbs down) + medicine ball front raises[/B] (45 s rest b/w Ssets)

30 x 12 / 55 x 12 / 20 lb Ball x 15 35 x 12 / 55 x 12 / 20 x 15 40 x 12 / 70 x 12 / 20 x 15

notes:  I snuck into the roped-off area of the gym where ppl only get to go if they are accompanied by a Trainer.  Why?  Because they have one of those free-moving stiff-handle pec decks I like, so’s I can go thumbs down and hit them Rhomboids!  A trainer looked at me, so I walked right up to him, “Who do I talk to to work out in here?”  He shrugged his shoulders, so I just went right back to working out.  Like a boss 😀

This meant I had to improvise on the exercises a bit, using cables and medicine balls.  In the end it was a little too light, but w/e, I needed to hit them rhomboids!!  After the third set I went back to the rest of the gym, in and out just like a robbery!

[B]Superset seated barbell press + bent over cable rear delt fly + chest supported t-bar row (elbows high)[/B] (45 s rest b/w Ssets)

95 x 12 / 28 x 15 / 45 x 20 105 x 12 / 30 x 12 / 50 x 20 115 x 12 / 20 x 15 / 50 x 20

notes:  The gym got busy 10 min after I showed up WTF?  I had to work awkwardly around some people for the cable and t-bar set ups, so it messed up my focus a bit and I didn’t get all the reps.  The buzzing and tripping over people was making me mad!  Noone wanted to seated press a barbell, but EVERYONE wanted to use the cables and T-bar!  GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR…………………

[B]Superset rear delt cable fly + strict side DB raise dropset + cable front raise[/B] (45 s rest b/w Ssets)

55 x 15 / 25s x 13 DROP 20s x 7 DROP 15s x 5 / 18lbs x 20 33 x 20 / 25s x 6 DROP 20s x 5 DROP 15s x 7 DROP 17.5s x 7 / 18lbs x 15 33 x 20 / 25s x 3 DROP 20s x 7 DROP 15s x 7 DROP 10s x 8 / 28lbs x 12

notes:  The weird weight numbers are b/c some of the cable setups were in kilograms, so I had to MATH.

The wide range in rep numbers on the DB side raises are b/c I experimented with where I dropped my hands to – they were all strict meaning straight arms, but in the first set I brought my hands down in front of my legs at the bottom, and in subsequent sets I brought my hands to the outside of my thighs without touching (to my sides in other words).  The net result?  The second way is MUCH tougher, you get a rest when you bring the DBs in front of you at the bottom, when you hover them close to your sides it keeps a more constant tension.  In the future, I will bring them to my sides at the start, and in front of me in the last set.

Careful readers will notice on my third drop of the second set, I actually went UP in weight, that is b/c the DBs were all scattered from the night before and I was getting frustrated looking for 10s or 12.5s, so I just said F it and grabbed some 17.5s.

The front raises sucked, the cable pulley kept clicking quite loud, and trainers were giving me the mean eye.  Don’t look at me!  It’s your damn machine, not mine!

I was a grumpy bastard during these sets, I had to wait for ppl to keep the superset going in the first set, but I glared at them and they disappeared for subsequent sets 🙂

[b]post-workout[/b]  20 min on the lateral elliptical, HIIT style

Energy was there today, focus was there, mood was NOT.  LOL  Oh well, that’s life.  Weights only took about 30 min, so it was a pretty fast-paced session!

