Feb 1 – High-Fat / Explosive Legs

Today I started Carb Cycling:  high fat days, high carb days and mostly protein days  (veggies are free food)

Today was High Fat Day!  Happy Year of the Horse!  Gung Hoy Fat Choi or whatever

A day of mostly steak SOUNDED awesome, but by the early afternoon all I wanted was some French fries, LOL.  But that’s how it goes, so I pan-seared up a bunch of Sirloin Tips rare to mid-rare with some coconut oil and chopped up a bunch of carrots, long live high fat day!  (Later on, I had a protein shake and pickles and cheese for dinner, but that is another IIFYM story, LOL)

I am sure someone will hate on the sirloin tip, but I find it to be:

a.  pretty lean (it’s like the Quad muscle of the cow)
b.  really cheap (cause people cook their steak well-done and so they NEED lots of fat to make it cook right, they pass on the quad meat!)
c.  when you cook it rare it isn’t too tough at all, I don’t even bother with marinades most of the time, 2 or 3 min a side, its all good

I had a request to do Leg Day with a friend, so why not?  Honestly, I would rather save Leg Day for High Carb Day, so my butt would be dragging a lot today, but that’s ok.  Time for legs, no time for excuses!

Took my Primer pack with my steak and carrots 90 min before the workout, then 3 caps Rocket Science on the bus ride over to the gym, about 45 min before the workout started!

I borrowed a Leg Routine from the BB site by Jennifer Dawn, because I knew my friend would LOVE the plyo.  I tweaked it a bit to add in some new moves neither of us had tried before, just for the novelty.

Plus hey, lady workin out pics!  You’re welcome!

Superset Seated Leg Curls and Narrowstance High Jumps (back and forth, my rest was her set and vice versa)

120 x 20 / 20 jumps
135 x 20 / 20 jumps
150 x 20 / 20 jumps
150 x 20 / 20 jumps

IMG_3506

notes:  remember to lean forward on the seated curls!  It keeps you from shortening the hamstring, you get a longer ROM.  For the narrow high jumps, we only go down to 1/4 squat then POP back up, try and grab some height.

Leg Press Machine:  regular reps and dead stop reps (back and forth)

395 x 20 reg reps
395 x 15 reg reps / 5 dead stop reps
395 x 5 regs / 15 dead stops
395 x 20 dead stop reps

IMG_3508

notes:  this machine was way too light for me, but we needed something to do dead stops on.  Meaning you come to the bottom of the move, let your legs relax for a fraction of a second, let the muscle tension go, then EXPLODE back up.  Working on that explosive power!

Smith Machine Lunges (back and forth)

bar + 4 dime plates for 20 per leg
bar + 4 dime plates for 20 per leg
bar + 4 dime plates for 20 per leg

IMG_3510

notes:  booo, I hate you lunges!

Jumping Hack Squats (back and forth)

90 x 5
90 x 5
90 x 5
90 x 5
90 x 5

notes:  same as the other high jumps, you only go down to 1/4 squat ROM, then EXPLODE back up as hard as you can.  Grab some air!  When you land, make sure your feet are set up right, take a second to fix their position if you need to, then repeat.  The goal here is not to push heavy weight, but to transfer a moderate amount of weight as EXPLOSVELY as possible.

Standing Leg Curls on the extension machine (back and forth, reps are 5 fast then 5 slow, repeat)

75 x 20/20
65 x 20/20
65 x 20/20
65 x 20/20

IMG_3514

notes:  I wasn’t feeling the contraction properly with 75, so I dropped the weight.  Alternating fast and slow reps keeps you from building up too much momentum.  The first 5 always start out so awesome, then you slow it down to halftime for the next 5 reps, then when you go back to 5 fast reps, your gas tank is burned out!  I always get a really tough workout alternating fast and slow on the standing leg curls.  I hate using an extension machine for this, but it was the only choice we had.

While curling, we caught this dude playing video games in the other leg extension machine, so I snapped a pic, HAHA.  He had his leg crossed over the other knee, just chillin!

IMG_3524

Box Jumps (back and forth)
15, 15, 15

IMG_3527

Jefferson Lifts (back and forth)

bar x 20
bar x 20
65 x 20
65 x 20

IMG_3530

notes:  I had never done these before, so we went light and I just worked on my form.  Check that pic out… me flossing my butt with a metal pole like a fairy, while big swole bro behind me t-bar rows 4 and a quarter plates LOL.  Perfect contrast

Leg Extensions (back and forth)

90 x 15
90 x 15
90 x 15
90 x 15

notes:  these were super light, but to be honest, the gym dude told us the gym was closing in 10 minutes and we needed to get out, so I just left it on her weight and worked it out.

The whole thing took almost 2 hours!  It was no joke.  This was an odd workout, but hey nice to mix it up every now and then.  Still have another Leg Day in just 2 days!!  Oh nooooooo…….

