Feb 3 – High Carb Day / Legs

In retrospect, this day was ambitious.  I guess I thought moderate amounts of carbs would turn me into Superman, haha.  Oh well, I pushed it.

Woke up in the morning, then went to the gym for 30 min of cardio on the elliptical.  Then went to work.

At lunch, I was bored and wanted to escape the slow whittling of my soul that is my job, so I slipped out with a coworker and went to the office gym for 30 more min of cardio on the stationary bike.

Post work I had an appt with the trainer,  time for legs!

Yeah, it was my 2nd Leg Day in 3 calendar days.  No excuses!  Get to squattin

We took 5 min first to do measurements, discuss my diet, make plans for the future, plot and scheme.

I told the trainer my right knee was sore, so we warmed up with 10 min of Dynamic Stretching
– walking lunges with high knee squeezes
– lateral lunges
– yoga:  dragon, gecko, twisted gecko, forward folds  (imagine going into plank, then bringing one foot outside your sameside hand.  then playing around with your forward knee or playing around with your opposite side arm)

Barbell Squats (about 45-60 sec rest)

135 x 10
155 x 10
175 x 10
175 x 10
175 x 10
175 x 10

IMG_3550

notes:  My trainer was unhappy with my heels, so we threw some nickel plates under them.  Tiring!

Walking Lunges w Kettlebells (30-45 sec rest)

40 lb KBs x 8/8
40 lb KBs x 8/8
40 lb KBs x 8/8
40 lb KBs x 8/8

IMG_3553

notes:  I hate lunges!  I was tired as hell, I didn’t register why at the time, I just thought I was having an off day.  Only now looking back do I realize multiple leg days plus multiple cardio before the second leg day.  Plus the cutting and carb cycling, FUARK.  Oh well, LOL

Deadlifts (45-60 sec rest)

135 x 10
205 x 8
205 x 10
205 x 5 DROP 135 x 5
135 x 10

IMG_3565

notes:  I look like KoolAid lifting that chit!  Trainer made me rack pull from below my knees, then bring it low without touching the ground, then back up.  Just all tension!
I felt gassed right away, I thought I was having a straight garbage session.  I had to drop the weight back to my warmup and just focus on good form.  Its not like my grip was tired or my back was sore… I just RAN OUT OF GAS.

Elevated Split Squats w Kettlebells (30 sec rest))

25 lb KBs x 10/10
25 lb KBs x 10/10
25 lb KBs x 10/10

IMG_3566

notes:  These felt better, thank gawd.

I was running out of time in our session at this point, so I broke out and went to my massage session.  But woops!  the massage dude had something unexpected come up, so whatever.  I just went home and crashed.

