Oh yeah, did I mention I did a spin bike marathon on Saturday??  NBD, do one every year.  On to the next workout 🙂

 

I was challenged by a friend to go through the Quantum Body Method series of workouts put out by Ergogenix and Robert Hatch (isn’t that the fat naked gay dude from Battlestar Galactica?).

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/video-ergogenix-quantum-body-method.htm

Then people are all like, “nooooo, don’t dude, WAY too tough”.

*puts hands on hips, hearty laugh*

Not scared of volume, not scared of giant sets.  Not scared of anything.  WORKOUTS SHOULD BE SCARED OF ME.

Yeah, so I had a marathon yesterday, so what?  Time for the gym.  Wanted to get in some work ASAP while I still had the carbs from the last few days in my system.

QBM Chest and Biceps

Decline Bench Press Machine (pyramid, no rest)

80 x 20, 100 X 10, 120 x 10, 100 x 10, 80 SLOW x 4, 60 SLOW x 6

notes:  far as I could tell from the video, this was one long-ass set only.  They tell you to start with the weakest part of your chest first, and my lower pecs are WAY softer than my upper, so I started with the decline.  They want ZERO rest, so I opted for the machines since I didn’t have a spotter.  Just keep pumping them out.  You climb up to Set 3, then climb back down to Set 5.  Set 5 is supposed to be SLOW, so I chose 5 second pos and negs.  The first time I did 80 pounds was nothing, but Set 5 80 pounds with extra slow reps?  DEADLY.  I had to drop it one more and keep going with Set 6 just because I was so embarrassed I could only do 4.

Flat BB Bench Press (45 sec rest)

135 x 15
135 x 15
135 x 15
155 x 15
175 x 12

notes: These were feeling really good so I went for a couple of extra sets.

Superset Incline Bench Machine and Pushups (45 sec rest b/w supersets)

60 x 10 UP 80 x 10 UP 100 x 7 / pushups x 6
80 x 10 UP 100 x 10 UP 120 x 3 / pushups x 6

notes: Far as I could tell, he only wanted 2 sets.  I used the machine again to facilitate a quick pyramid.  First attempt I set the seat way too low and my shoulder screamed immediately.  Very scary.  So I raised the seat and achieved the sets you see above.  I was nervous about my shoulder so I set the weight lighter in the first set, then raised it for the second set.  Could barely get out those 3rd tiers of the pyramid!

Cable Fly – High, Mid, Low (45 sec rest)

60 x 10 HIGH, x 10 MID, x 10 LOW
60 x 10 HIGH, x 10 MID, x 10 LOW
60 x 10 HIGH, x 10 MID, x 10 LOW

notes: Low was SUPER tough, not just because I was up to rep 30 by then.  I think I am weakest from that angle.  I should have remembered my bench press approach and started low and worked high with the isolation work.  Oh well, got them out, albeit they were ugly as hell.

Bicep Giant Set:  EZ bar curls, Hammer Curls, Hammer/Reg Curls, Rev Preacher Curls (45 sec rest)

50 x 20 / 15s x 20 / 15s x 10&10 / 25 x 10 CLOSE 10 WIDE
50 x 20 / 10s x 20 / 10s x 10&10 / 25 x 10 CLOSE 10 WIDE
50 x 20 / 10s x 20 / 10s x 10&10 / 25 x 10 CLOSE 10 WIDE

notes: Pump city!!!  As in the video, you don’t set the dumbbells down after the hammer curls, you go immediately to a full ROM regular curl followed by a full ROM hammer curl – reg curl hammer curl ok that’s 1 rep… repeat 9 more times.  For the reverse curls I chose to use the preacher bench and do 10 closegrip then 10 widegrip (close was a lot harder).

After my first set, some jackass grabbed the 15 lb DBs, so I had to use the 10s.  15s were VERY hard, 10s were slightly too easy, so it was a tricky balance.  The pump was GREAT, hitherto never seen before veins popped up in my forearms!!  Partly that was my pwo, but still, can’t get there without the right workout, and this workout delivered the blood!!!

post-workout cardio 25 min elliptical

The pyramids kicked ass!  If I could tweak it a bit, would prob have added in more sets of everything, maybe just added in straight sets (like I did on the flat).

