High Carb / Sick Legs AKA dead man squatting

A friend IM’ed me and said she wanted to work out, we had not hung out in a long time, so this seemed like fun!   I was only feeling maybe 75%, and she said she had not worked out in a while, so that worked out nicely, nothing too fancy, no supersets, low volume.  She would get an appropriate (but hard!) workout, and I wouldn’t collapse.

No pics, I wasn’t going to force that on her for the first time, haha.
Legs:

warmup 5 min elliptical

Hack Squats (60 sec rest, feet narrow, go down until I break parallel with my hip crease)

2 plates x 15
2 plates and 2 quarter plates x 15
4 plates x 15

Leg Press (60 sec rest, feet high and wide)

14 plates x 15
16 plates x 15
18 plates x 15

Leg Extensions (traded sets back and forth)

100 x 10, 10 partial reps
110 x 10, 10 partial reps
120 x 10, 10 partial reps, 1 iso hold against manual resistance for as long as possible

notes:  ok, I threw a little extra in as a finisher.  When she did these, especially the last set, she stumbled her way out of the chair and openly told me to fukkkk off… which is the response I was aiming for, HAHA.  It breaks the tension

Reverse Hack Squats (trade sets back and forth)

4 plates x 15
6 plates x 15
8 plates x 15

notes:  on her last set, she failed around rep 10 and got pinned in the hole, which on a hack squat machine is NBD.  I actually like it when ppl fail into the basement on a hack squat machine for the first time, that way they see there is nothing to be scared of, its just a mild stapling into the ground, you won’t die.

Seated Leg Curls (traded sets back and forth)

100 x 10, 10 partial reps
110 x 10, 10 partial reps
120 x 10, 10 partial reps, 1 iso hold against manual resistance as long as possible

post-workout

5 min stretching:  hamstrings, quads, hips

10 min stepmill

She was pretty game, considering she hadn’t worked out in a while!  Will have to check how she’s walking tomorrow. 

Actually, I probably was being too cavalier… a few hours after the workout ended, I started to feel like CHIT.  Maybe I was still struggling with this bug after all.  sigh… spent the last hour or two hiding under blankets.  Being sick sucks… when all I want to do is get awesome!

