Being carb load day, I decided profit from it to do a morning session and an evening session with the trainer.

Was at the gym around 6 AM, and who do I see there? One of the deadlift ladies from yesterday. Training Back. Apparently, she trains Back every day… she is the CT Fletcher of backs. I thought I was awesome training it twice a week, apparently I have been schooled.

Superset Seated Military Press and Rotator Cuff Work (45 seconds rest)

95 x 12 / 15 lb DB taken through rotator cuff ROM 15 times per arm
95 x 12 / ROTO
95 x 12 / ROTO
95 x 12 / ROTO
95 x 12 / ROTO

notes: I like to do it standing, but both the racks were taken with people doing much cooler exercises (squats and deadlifts) so whatever.

Seated DB Power Cleans(30 sec rest)

15s x 15
15s x 15
15s x 15

notes: Getting more comfortable with my form, activating the shoulders, keeping the elbows high and exploding up. A few more sessions and I should be ready to move up in weight.

DB Twist Press (60 sec rest)

50s x 10
55s x 10
60s x 10
65s x 6
60s x 8
55s x 10
50s x 10

notes: My shoulder got DARN tired right about here.

Leaning Side Cable Raise (did 2 sets back to back no rest, rested 60 seconds, 2 more sets back to back)

20 x 15/15
20 x 15/15
REST
20 x 15/15
20 x 12/12

notes: I was going to do 3 sets back to back, but I got caught chatting with the daily back training lady after Set 2, so to balance it out I did another double set right after.

Rear Delt Cable Fly (30 sec rest)

55 x 15
55 x 11
55 x 13
33 x 15

notes: My rear delts just gave out quick on me on this one. The second set I was worn out, so the third set I tried to power through it, sensed I had lost both control and a good sense of the contraction, so I dropped the weight and did a 4th set and did it slow and tried to feel the squeeze.

DB Shrugs (30 sec rest)

95s x 15
100s x 12
100s x 10

notes: Always focusing on up and back, occasional holds at the top. Loving the veins on my arms on this one This gym doesn’t go higher than 100s, so I will have to either move to BB, or play around with higher reps and shorter rests. I just like using DBs for this.

Then I realized I had to head to work, so I took off.

Day of work, carbs carbs carbs!

Went to the studio to meet up with the trainer for some leg work.

Front Squats (to parallel, cross grip, 45 sec rest)

bar x 10
95 x 10
95 x 12
95 x 15
95 x 15

notes: Finally getting more comfortable with these. Trainer thinks my form is good enough for me to move up in weight, so yay.

DB SLDL (45 sec rest)

70s x 10
45s x 12
45s x 12
45s x 12

notes: I specially requested this variation because I can’t feel it properly when I do it on my own. After trying out the 70s, trainer wasn’t happy with my form and I wasn’t feeling it in my hams. So we dropped the weight bigtime and did it slow and low, and I felt the hams much better. She said my form was much better by the end, and hopefully I can move up in weight. Just like the front squats, I wanted to work on the movements I suckballz at, and DB SLDL is one of them.

Superset Leg Extensions, Vertical Leg Press, Foam Roller (rotated between the 3 without stopping)

160 x 15 / 6 plates x 25 / roller 5 minutes
160 x 15 / 6 plates x 25 / roller 5 minutes
160 x 15 / 6 plates x 25 / roller 5 minutes

notes: this is where the workout tanked. During the vertical press (which is MUCH harder than the 45 degree press, no 22 plates for me on the vert press, ROFL), 6 plates was going to be my warmup, and instead my left IT band tweaked on me and started popping and burning. So I spent 5 min foam rolling on the spiky foam roller, then back to extensions. We worked the foam roller into the work, and it chewed up a LOT of time, but I think I needed it.

unfortunately after this we had burned through the session, so I had to throw in the towel. Kind of an aborted leg session, sorry guys.

Still, a double workout day. Not gonna stop working hard because I know you all won’t!

