Legs twice a week / Back twice a week is gonna turn me into a beast! A sad, broken beast, haha

After Friday’s speedbump, I went back to the PT on Monday night to go after it again.

With some strategic tweaks. Instead of the crossarm grip on the front squat, I went strap-assisted. It actually feels not too bad, I just need to remember to engage my upper body more on the move.

First off, weighed me! I came in at 274.6, which I was blasé on, until my PT pointed out that I was ACTUALLY 276.4 last week.. so a 1.8 lb loss is WAY better than 1.4, at least in my mind, haha. If I had somehow magically moved my post-workout poop to pre-workout, I could have lost more! Oh well, squats helped the peristalsis, LOL

warmup 5 min stationary bike, medium resistance

Front Squats (strap-assisted, to parallel, 45 seconds rest)

115 x 10
115 x 15
115 x 12
115 x 12

notes: Whew! These were good core work for me, I was out of breath after each set. You definitely have to remember to “pull up” on the straps, so it keeps the upper body engaged, making it more of a total-body movement, which is a positive thing. When I forgot and let me hands relax, the weight would slide forward and I would catch myself and hitch it back, which would accidentally send the bar flying into my throat, OUCH! Try not to crush your windpipe with a barbell, dumbass.

Anyhow, higher weight than Friday, gonna keep at these and get them up.

DB SLDL(45 sec rest)

50s x 12
55s x 12
60s x 12
60s x 12

notes: My comfort with these is improving, and I am glad for the form spots. I could have gone heavier, but my grip was still tired from yesterday, so the 60s were all I wanted to juggle right now, haha.

Superset Leg Extensions & Vertical Leg Press (45 sec rest)

160 x 15 / 8 plates x 25 / foam roller 5 min
160 x 15 / 8P x 25
160 x 15 / 8P x 25
160 x 15 / 8P x 25

notes: The first time on the V press I felt the IT band pop and stick again so I got really worried and did 1 round of foam roller (on the spiky Gladiator, looks like a Super Mario obstacle or something), but on the second set my leg loosened up so I just pumped them out. Yay!

Smith Machine Squats (45 sec rest)

2 plates & 2 quarter plates x 12
2 plates & 2 quarter plates x 12
2 plates & 2 quarter plates x 12

notes: These are awkward as hell, seriously doubt I made it to parallel, so I just dropped down and stuck my butt out until the PT was happy with the depth, then kept cranking out the reps.

After playing around with the straps on the front squats and the foam roller and all that, it ate into our time, so we had to nix the leg curls and prioritize this as a quad workout, which I am totally good with. I will hit the hams harder later in the week.

