Today was all about the chest! What’s better than a chest workout? TWO chest workouts? It’s not overtraining… it’s overGAINING *gunshot*

Due to various circumstances it would take too long to type and not worth reading, both workouts were at the office gym. Afternoon workout was with a coworker.

AM Chest

flat DB Press, some rotator cuff work (60 sec rest)

40s x 14 / 15 lb DB taken through ROM, 15 times per arm
50s x 10 / ROTO
60s x 10 / ROTO
70s x 6 / ROTO
80s x 6
90s x 1
90s x 2

notes: Only did rotator cuff work until I felt loose.

Actually rather embarrassed here at my lack of strength. I am better than this, but my shoulder got cranky right away. I intended to bang out 20 reps with the 40s, and the left shoulder hurt immediately. I had to go slow and deliberate and keep the reps low on every successive set. By the time I got to the 90s, my loss of strength was clear. On my first set, a skinny ectodouche hovered over me on his way to go do crunches, and it threw me off. So I decided to do a second set, but now with no distractions, it still wasn’t happening. Mad and sore, I wandered off to the Smith Machine.

flat Smith Machine press (45 sec rest, wide grip, constant tension, stay in mid ROM and pump out reps, no lockout or touch your chest)

2 plates x 15
2 plates x 13
2 plates x 15
2 plates x 15

notes: got in some good chest work here. felt a bit better.

Decline DB Fly

20s x 15

Low to High Cable Fly (45 sec rest)

55 x 15
55 x 15
55 x 15
55 x 15

notes: the cables were busy so I tried decline DB flys, did not like the feeling on my shoulder. But then the cables freed up so I went back to them. This cable is heavy so the weight seemed appropriate.

Generally disappointed in the chest session, so I resolved to do more after work. Coworker joined me, doing his own thing for the first half and then realizing he doesn’t know a damn thing and asking if he can do what I’m doing in the second half, LOL.

PM Shoulders, Chest

Superset Seated Smith Shoulder Press and Face Pulls (rest varied, see notes)

70 in plates x 12 / 22.5 x 15
(rest approx. 90 sec)
70 in plates x 12 / 22.5 x 15
(no rest)
70 in plates x 12 / 22.5 x 15
(no rest)
90 in plates x 12 / 27.5 x 15
(rest approx. 2 minutes?)
90 in plates x 12 / 27.5 x 15

notes: Right after my first set, my coworker wanted to talk to me about how he felt SO sick, and had NO energy. blah blah.

Feeling peeved, I did the next 3 supersets back to back with no rest, haha. Then he came up to me again and asked if I could lend him headphones, so I went off to my locker to grab him some. Then did my 5th set. ANNOYING!!

Twist Press (60 sec rest)

50s x 10
55s x 10
60s x 9
55s x 10
50s x 10
45s x 12
40s x 15

notes: I had intended to go up to 65s, but when I got too tired to do a 10th rep on the 60s, I decided to go back down the rack, and dip a few sets lower and go higher reps.

These felt good, WAY better than the regular flat press from the AM.

leaning Strict Cable Side Raises (no rest back and forth arm to arm)

12.5 x 12/12
12.5 x 10/10
12.5 x 10/10

notes: Heavy cable! No 20s for me, haha. When I was doing this, my coworker got jealous, so after I was done I showed him how to do these and he did 2 back to back sets.

Rear Delt Cable Fly (traded sets with my coworker, 45 sec or so in between)

35 x 15
35 x 15
35 x 15

notes: He had never done these before, so I led him through some sets.

DB Shrugs (back and forth with coworker, approx. 20 sec rest, lol)

100s x 15
100s x 12
100s x 10

notes: When he picked up his 50s to do his, he said it felt too rough in his hands, so he would only do a few reps and rerack them. So I would then immediately again do mine, lol. Made the rests deadly short!!!

And that was that! Headed home.

I am BEAT UP right now! Ugh, double workout days on low carb are DEADLY.

