Hectic day! Got in my workout first thing in the morning then had to rush to get to work on time to run through a myriad of silly meetings.

I do love waking up in the morning with only a 6 AM lifting session on my mind, it gets you focused! Trainer agreed to come out and do DLs with me – her goal is to lift 3 wheels (awesome), so she needs to grind out some strength gains just like me! high rep DL day lets go!

Deadlift and Back Assistance Work

Deadlifts (conventional grip on all sets except last set, I didn’t use straps but she did, traded sets, my set was her rest)

150 x 5
190 x 5
225 x 5
255 x 5
280 x 5
320 x 7

IMG_4198

notes: Trainer did 205 for 10 reps! new PR for her. The 255 set was a mistake, loaded an extra dime plate on one side. When I did that set, it felt unbalanced, I stopped looked at my hand placing, looked fine. I did my 5 reps but they felt OFF, and I was worried I was having a bad day, until I realized the weight was unbalanced. Whew! I thought I was in big trouble.

Stopped the AMRAP set when my I couldn’t control my back any more, it was starting to “wobble” (trainer said I was starting to make snake waves with my back).

One Arm Landmine Rows (traded sets)

50 x 8/8
70 x 8/8
70 x 8/8
70 x 8/8

Bent Over Smith Machine Rows (explosive reps, traded sets)

4 plates x 6
2 plates x 8
2 plates x 8
2 plates x 8

notes: I tried 4 plates but my form was chit. I find the Smith SO awkward for these, dammit! The path my wrists take keeps making the hooks clack back against the rack, which messed me up and made me start to stand up. I had to drop the weight big time and up the reps a bit just to work on my form. I found widening my grip a bit helped a lot.

DB Pullover (constant tension, traded sets)

60 x 10
60 x 10
70 x 10
70 x 10

IMG_4212

notes: We started off going perpendicular to the bench, but then switched to deep incline bench lengthwise. Keep the arms straight, don’t bring them directly overhead or you lose the tension!

DB shrugs (traded sets, hold EACH rep for 3 seconds)

70s x 12
70s x 12
70s x 12

notes: Trainer doesn’t want big traps, so she did crossover pulldowns instead. I went conservative on the weight, pulled up and back and held it there while the trainer slowly counted to 3, full control the whole time. Could def go heavier, but I wanted to see how it felt first time.

Had to rush to work, no time for cardio! Lazy bastard! haha

