Squats always make me the most nervous. Something about the gutcheck required to load all this weight on your shoulders and drop down and push back up is one of the reasons why this exercise WORKS so well. In addition to the all the muscles it hits, it hits you right in the FEELS. Iron courage.

Squats and Assistance

Barbell Squats (1-2 min rest)

100 x 5
125 x 5
150 x 5
165 x 5
190 x 5
215 x 10

IMG_4229

notes: Just like Bench Press, I need to start light and build my way back up. So again, good chance to focus on my form, tightening the core, keeping my back tight. Because of my stiff shoulder, I build up a bad habit of leaving my hands too wide, which makes my back stay too loose. Also when I drop below parallel, my hips and butt start to TUCK in, not good for the push back up. All stuff to try and polish.

Before I get too cocky, after Set 5, I thought I had just racked it, turned to talk to my trainer, it rolled right off the edge of the rack and dropped half the barbell onto the cage, bouncing it off the back of my head on the way down! Ouch! Nice little headache and stiff neck from that. Idiot. Remember to focus.

Prone Leg Curls (45 sec rest)

75 x 8
75 x 8
75 x 8
75 x 8 then 25 partials out of bottom ROM

IMG_4232

notes: Could go heavier, the full ROM felt almost right, but the partials felt too easy. Maybe also the machine needs some oil, it might be helping me in the bottom ROM with its stiffness.

Leg Press Pyramid (constant tension reps, do rest-pause while another plate gets loaded)

10 plates x 4 UP 11 plates x 4 UP 12 x 4 UP 13 x 4

notes: Thought this would be hard, but was way too easy. Need to go up plenty.

Leg Extension Destroyer Set (stretches part of set, hold at full contraction for 2 seconds on micro set 1 and 2)

170 x 10 STRETCH 10 seconds per leg 160 x 15 STRETCH 15 seconds per leg 150 x 20 THEN 15 partials bottom ROM

IMG_4237

notes: Did that make sense? Basically, do 10 reps with a 2 second hold at the top, I did a standing quad stretch for 10 seconds each leg, jump right back in to do 15 reps with a 2 second hold, then do a 15 second stretch each leg, then jump right back in for 20 straight reps and 15 partials!

Felt soooo good! Felt like I was daring my legs to cramp, I flirted with charliehorses on the inside of my quads a few times! eek! And the stretches in between… they hurt too! I was doing all I could to get my quads pumped!

DB SLDL (45 sec rest)

65s x 15
60s x 15

notes: Wasn’t feeling the MMC in my hams, so we lightened the weight and deepened the stretch and I felt it much more.

Superset Standing DB Calf Raises and Tibialis Flex (45 sec rest)

60s x 10 then HOLD 10 seconds 10 more reps then HOLD 10 seconds then 10 more reps then HOLD 10 seconds / 50 Tibialis Flexes
60s x 10 then HOLD 10 seconds 10 more reps then HOLD 10 seconds then 10 more reps then HOLD 10 seconds / 50 Tibialis Flexes

IMG_4241

notes: Basically, you do 10 calf raises, then hold the squeeze at the top for 10 seconds, then repeat. Doing 30 reps and 30 seconds worth of held contractions. Then go right into Tibialis flexes, which I added some resistance by dragging my heels against the floor. Sounds wimpy, but after 50 contractions, then a second set… the floor drag got real sticky!!

