Still keeping it light while I dial in on the aspects of my form I need: engaged lats, leg drive. But this is 531, so the weights will climb over time. Strength is built by more than one rep maxes, but by putting in lots of consistent work. I have no doubts focusing on chest and shoulders twice a week will yield the same results I got focusing on back twice a week.

Bench Press plus Assistance

Bench Press Supersetted with Over&Backs or Widegrip Pulldowns (60-120s rest, O&Bs for the first 3 sets, pulldowns for the last 3 sets)

75 x 5 / O&B x 8
95 x 5 / O&B x 8
110 x 5 / O&B x 8
125 x 3 / free cable widegrip pulldowns 115 x 5
145 x 3 / 125 x 5
160 x 10 / 135 x 5

notes: Felt relatively solid. After the second set I actually had to run off to the bathroom for 5 min (holds up two fingers). Whoops! Maybe I clenched my core TOO hard!

Decline DB Press (45 sec rest, slight decline, hold flex at top for 1 second)

60s x 8
60s x 8
60s x 8
60s x 8

notes: I didn’t want a huge decline, so I just put a quarter plate under the foot of the bench.

Incline smith Machine Press (slight incline, constant tension, 45 sec rest)

bar x 6
2 plates x 6
2 plates & 2 quarter plates x 6
2 plates & 2 quarter plates x 5
2 plates & 2 quarter plates x 5
2 plates & 2 quarter plates x 4

notes: Ran out of gas fast on these!

Cut out the pushups and went right on to shoulders.

Seated Strict DB Side Raise (45 sec rest)

10s x 10
20s x 12
20s x 12
20s x 12

Cage Press in the Smith Machine (explosive reps, squeeze traps, 45 sec rest)

bar x 5
2 nickel plates x 5
2 dime plates x 5
2 quarter plates x 5
2 quarter plates x 5
2 quarter plates x 5
2 quarter plates x 5
2 quarter plates x 5

notes: Smith Machine sucks for these! I am too tall, I couldn’t extend my arms all the way up, so the exercise was sort of a waste. I did what I could, but it was a fail to me since I could only get my arms 80% of the way up. Still threw my head forward between my arms so I could squeeze and crush my traps.

Incline Bench Rear Delt DB Fly Destroyer Set (all hang and swings, no rest)

20s x 60 DROP 10s x 30 DROP 5s x 10

notes: still tough! I had to take two breaks during the first microset, I couldn’t do 60 in a row! My rear delts were fried.

And that was it! showered and headed back to work.

