I am back!  Did you miss me?  I have been away for a few weeks.  I went to my sister’s wedding, ate a little cake, took in a little sun.  But no, I did not stop working out.  I did a few major workouts, retested my one rep maxes, and am ready to get back to it, hungrier than ever.

 

Welcome to my 27 week project to get big and strong, losing weight AND gaining strength  through lots and lots of compound lifts.  The basics:  lots of deadlifts, squats, bench press, overhead press.  Four days of conditioning a week, and lots and lots of scary piles of iron, testing me and daring me to back down.  This will be the longest I have ever committed to a training program, so this will be both a challenge and a real chance to see how my body responds to progressive overload and a well-structured consistency.  No tricks, just a commitment to lifting.

 

Day 1, Back Day!

warmup  DeFranco Agile 8

http://www.t-nation.com/training/defranco-agile-8

 

Deadlifts (1-2 min rest)

warm-up

150 x 5

190 x 5

230 x 5

main (2-3 min rest)

245 x 5

285 x 5

325 x 6

notes:  I was going for 10 on the last set, but I ripped open my left knee and blood was trickling down my leg, so we stopped haha.  This makes the third time in a row, I think I need some sleeves, at the least, if not a form correction.

On a lighter note, check out my crazy face!

IMG_4709

 

Assistance

Squats (60-90 sec rest)

135 x 10

135 x 10

135 x 10

135 x 10

135 x 10

Leg Raises (roman chair, 30-60 sec rest)

10

10

10

10

10

 

Real simple, real effective!  Did I mention I dropped 2 pounds this week?  I guess the 1RM testing agreed with me, as a sort of deload.  Then I went for a massage, reward!!

