Today was supposed to be a rest day… but I got bored… So after my cardio I tried out an Arm workout.

 

pre-workout:  20 min elliptical

I wouldn’t call it LISS, I was dripping sweat by the end.

 

OK!  For arms, time to try something I had never done before – static holds.  Do 10 reps on one side while holding a contraction on the other side (for hammer curls it was a 90 degree bend, for kickbacks it was try to keep your arm extended and back).  So 10 reps on your left while you hold contraction on your right; then do 10 reps on your right while you do a static hold on your left; then do 10 reps with both hands at once.

I thought this would be cake…  It’s NOT!  This kicked my butt.  I had to keep dropping weight because I couldn’t control the weight and kept swinging it around just to get through the reps.

I think maybe this was too intense a workout to jump right into, I should have done some solid arm work first then used this as a finisher.

Oh, and did I also mention it was ZERO rest?  Do the bicep routine, then triceps, then go back to biceps.  Go back and forth for 5 rounds.  And die. 

Hammer curls:  40 x 10 left, 10 right, 10 twisting curls both sides (way too heavy!)

Pronated Kickbacks:  20 x 10 left, 10 right, 10 both

Hammer curls:  30 x 10 left, 10 right, 10 twisting curls both sides

Pronated Kickbacks:  15 x 10 left, 10 right, 10 both

Hammer curls:  25 x 10 left, 10 right, 10 twisting curls both sides

Pronated Kickbacks:  15 x 10 left, 10 right, 10 both

Hammer curls:  20 x 10 left, 10 right, 10 twisting curls both sides

Pronated Kickbacks:  10 x 10 left, 10 right, 10 both

Hammer curls:  20 x 10 left, 10 right, 10 twisting curls both sides

Pronated Kickbacks:  10 x 10 left, 10 right, 10 both

 

Now, I CLAIM zero rest, but in truth at regular intervals I was just staring into the mirror and panting while I tried to get my wind back.  It was rest day, and I was honestly already beat up.  But this was intense.

 

