I was not looking forward to this workout.  My quads felt deeply sore… not sore all over, but sore at the CORE of them, deep inside they were hurting still.  It had lessened over the past few days, but I didn’t feel 100%.  Today is carb day, and I had fries for lunch, and they didn’t sit well with me.  I was gassy, and had an upset stomach.  And at work I did something dumb, and am gonna get punished for it probably sometime next week.  Maybe.

The end result is my mind was screaming in my head “just go home and chill out.  work out tomorrow.  if you try and squat you will do horribly.  why have a bad session?”  Lots of negative self-talk.

I decided, OK, just do everything UP TO lifting the weight.  Then see how you feel.  Take your pre-workout.  Do your agility warm-up.  Visit the john.  And you know what?  By the time I got through all of that, I decided… F it – gonna lift the weight anyways and just grind it out.  I still wasn’t hyped for it, but I was committed at this point.

 

warmup:  DeFranco Agile 8

 

Squats (Romaleos worn)

warmup  (30-60 sec rest)

115 x 5

145 x 5

175 x 5

 

main (2-3 min rest, belt worn)

205 x 3

230 x 3

260 x 7

notes:  I had the number 7 in my head because that’s how many overhead presses I did yesterday, so I might have psyched myself out and only did 7 instead of more.  Oh well.

 

 

Assistance

Deadlifts (done barefoot, no straps)

warm-up (rest equalled time to change plates, double overhand)

160 x 5

200 x 5

240 x 5

main assist (2 min rest, crossgrip, belt worn)

320 x 5

320 x 5

320 x 5

320 x 5

320 x 5

 

Frig the ab work; packed up my poop and went home.

