Thanksgiving, Shmanksgiving

Overhead Press

warm-up – Superset OHP and Over & Backs (minimal rest between supersets)

60 x 5 / over&backs x 8

75 x 5 / ob

90 x 5 / ob

main – Superset OHP and Assisted Pullups ( 1-2 min rest b/w supersets, pullups assisted for 1/3 BW)

115 x 5 / 5 widegrip

130 x 3 / 5 hammergrip

145 x 8 / 5 widegrip   (used elbow sleeves)  Rep PR!!

 

notes:  Bar was moving well, shoulders felt healthy, let’s keep the party going!

 

Joker Sets – Superset OHP and Assisted Pullups ( sleeves worn during press, 2-4 min rest b/w supersets, pullups assisted for 1/3 BW)

160 x 1 / 5 hammergrip

175 x 1 / 5 hammergrip  Weight PR!!

 

notes:  Very happy!  When I did 160, I hit a hitch halfway up, so I lowered it back down, and exploded back up for a clean rep.  I did not want to move past 160 if I couldn’t do it clean.  The most I had ever done before was 160, and had failed multiple times at 165, so I felt insane blowing right past 165 and going for 175, but I decided to go for it.  I got myself psyched up, hit that same hitch halfway up, but I had a lot of momentum both physical and mental, and the bar did not truly slow down or reverse direction, so I kept pushing and got it to lock out!  Not the cleanest rep, but I am going to take it 🙂

 

Assistance

Bench Press  (no rest for warm ups)

warm-up – Superset BP and Assisted Pullups  (paused all bench reps an inch above chest, Spoto Press style)

75 x 5 / 5 hammer

95 x 5 / 5

115 x 3 / 5

145 x 1 / 5

main assist   (60-90 sec rest, sleeves worn)

170 x 3

170 x 3

170 x 3

170 x 3

170 x 3

 

Superset Wide Neutral Grip Cable Rows and Hanging Knee Raises (no rest, go back and forth from one to the other)

120 x 10 / 5 raises

120 x 10 / 5 raises

120 x 10 / 5 raises

120 x 10 / 5 raises

120 x 10 / 5 raises

notes:  just wanted a good contraction and a good stretch here.  My grip was dying on me though, it started as major soreness in my calluses.  So I kept the knee raises at 5 and lowered the rest.

 

Post-workout:  self-applied myofascial release on anterior delts, long head of triceps, long head of biceps and distal insertion, lats, scalenes

notes:  saw this online, thought it might do me a lot of good so am starting to incorporate it

 

Cardio:  15 min stairmaster

 

 

magical session!  Who needs turkey when you can have this?

