Where once the future appeared to be a straight road, now was winding and dark… my certainty had turned to ashes, and the numbers had turned on me.

*cue Terminator 2 music* *has photo taken by Mexican gas station attendant then rides off in jeep*

Squats (Romaleos, SBDs)

warm-up (change weights and go again)

130 x 5 (narrow stance, ATG)

165 x 5 (narrow, ATG)

200 x 5 (narrow, ATG)

main (change weights and go again, belt came on)

215 x 5 (narrow, pretty damn deep)

245 x 4….. (narrow, ATG)

245 x 5 (medium stance)

280 x 5 (m)

notes: Was goofing around with narrowstance and dropping it so deep I could wipe my ass with the floor, but as the weight got heavier I was starting to rely on the bounce, started divebombing it. On the 245 set I lost core tightness and lost my balance and fell forward and had to dump it.

So embarrassing! Lost all my cool points in the gym (it was crowded) Redid my set with my regular main set stance, focused on controlling the negative, lol. Kinda felt like a ruhtard after that and decided no Joker sets, get done the min amount of work and move on.

Assistance – Deadlifts (barefoot)

warm-up (change weight and go again, double overhand until indicated)

175 x 5

220 x 5

265 x 3

310 x 1 (switched to crossgrip)

350 x 1 (belt came on)

395 x 1

main assist (4 min rest, crossgrip, belt)

100% 440 x 1 Weight PR!!

100% 440 x FAIL!!

notes: This is where the program was pretty much likely to hit the wall. Numbers had built up to the point where I had to hit 440 5 times, and I had never pulled that once before. First time I did it, and it was a bit of a grinder, but not horrible. I took a nice generous rest, and tried to do it again. Got it up a few inches, then it slowed… By that point, it was lost.

I couldn’t hit the Assistance numbers so…

RESET

I will need to reset my weights on the Deadlift and keep going. Still, 22 weeks of progressive 5/3/1 without a reset… mostly because of big improvements in my form and better lifting. Still, I laid on the floor of the gym for a few minutes, kind of deflated. It sucks washing out of a workout, I have become a number chaser, and this one got away.

Gonna go listen to sad music for a while

