It was high carb day on Saturday, so I had a nice energy reserve to work with today. Get a bit of volume in!

warm-up: none, got right to it

High Bar Squats (Romaleos, SBDs)

70 x 5 (narrow stance, ATG, minimal rest – change weight and go again)
120 x 5
170 x 3
195 x 2 (switch to medium stance and parallel)
215 x 1 (belt on)

241.5 x 6 @RPE<8 (increased rest to 3 min)

230 x 6 @RPE8
230 x 6 @RPE8.5
230 x 6 @RPE8
230 x 6 @RPE8.5
230 x 6 @RPE8.5

notes: I scoured the gym… and found 2 3/4 lb plates! Hooray! that means one on each side equals 5.5 pounds, and I am now capable of achieving the micro-increments I want.

I also decided not go higher than 6 reps on the top set for the entire workout, and focus more on the volume of the backoff sets. It worked because I managed 5 backoff sets of squats.

Decided after 5 sets to move on without going for RPE9. When you aren’t in a calorie surplus, workouts that run much longer than 2 hours just kill you. 8.5 will have to do until the weights get heavier or I build up more endurance on this cut.

Since the weights were just reset, it has been an ideal time to work on form. So even though I say I go for parallel, I aim for lower than parallel in the working sets. That way I build up good habits and don’t risk losing depth.

Bench Press

50 x 5 (minimal rest, change weight and go again, Spoto)
80 x 5
115 x 3
130 x 2
145 x 1

162.5 x 6 @RPE<8 (elbow sleeves on, change to paused reps, increased rest to 3 min)

150 x 6 @RPE<8
150 x 6 @RPE<8
150 x 6 @RPE<8
150 x 6 @RPE<8
150 x 6 @RPE<8

notes: Brought the rest back up to 3 min. I wanted smooth sets, no fatigue factors. Moved on after 5 sets.

Deadlift (barefoot)

90 x 5 (minimal rest, conventional grip)
155 x 5
215 x 3
245 x 2
275 x 1 (changed to crossgrip, put on belt)

307.5 x 6 @RPE<8 (rest went up to 3 min)

300 x 6 @RPE<8
300 x 6 @RPE8.5
300 x 6 @RPE9

notes: Things were going well, even though the workout had now stretched past the 2 hour mark!

On the 275 set, I lost focus. My belt was too high and it was crushing on my ribs. My grip then shifted, it started to crush my calluses, and I shifted forward on my feet and had to catch my balance. Luckily it was just a 1 rep warmup set, or I would have felt compelled to stop the set early, dump it, and do over.

I kept having issues with putting on my belt. For deadlifts, I like the back end of the belt high, and the belt extra tight. But I also like the front end low. The front end wasn’t low enough, and it was crushing my ribs and I couldn’t take a good breath on the eccentric. This plagued me until I finally got the placement of the belt right on backoff set #3, but by then, my floating ribs were more than a bit sore.

On backoff set 3, right at the start of the set, I hit my wall of fatigue and suddenly was struck by a sudden case of fuck this. I tried to explode through the reps and ended up ripping my shin open with the bar. Decided to call it a 9 set after that, and pack up and go home.

Total workout: 2 h 20 m

