I will keep fiddling around with my assistance day, so I can make it what I need it to be.

I felt rather toasted from 2 nights of chitty sleep, so I lowered the volume as I went through the workout, and cut out the Farmers Walks. But I still wanted to play with the hex bar

warm-up: nada

Superset Overhead Press and Assisted Pullups (pullups assisted for 1/3 BW, 30-60 sec rest)

45 x 5 / 10 hammergrip
60 x 5 / 6 widegrip (these felt bad on the shoulder, no more of that today)
90 x 3 / 10 hammer
100 x 2 / 8 hammer
115 x 1 / 8 hammer

move to straight sets of OHP

125 x 6 @RPE8 (inc rest to 3 min)
125 x 6 @RPE8
125 x 6 @RPE8
125 x 6 @RPE8.5

notes: After Set 4, I stopped. I still felt like I had a lot of pop left in me, but the bar speed was slowing down and the form was getting a bit off, so I called it.

Band Pullaparts (60 sec rest)

20, 20, 20

notes: would flex for a second at the peak contraction on each rep, and try not to lose tension. it wasn’t the strongest resistance band I had ever seen, but it was a-ite.

DB Hammer Curls (90s rest)

40s x 12
45s x 10
45s x 9.5

notes: I thought I was going to be able to work up to the 50s, but no dice. After the third set I had a good pump going in the forearms.

OK, so I wanted to keep gaining experience with the frame (and the thick handles), so I decided to shrug with it instead of a farmers walk.

Hex Bar Shrugs (thick grip, up and back on every rep, 90s rest)

190 x 12
240 x 12
240 x 12
240 x 12

notes: never tried this before. felt good! I could def go heavier, but 240 felt pretty good so I stayed there.

And then F it! Time to go home, and see if it was the cocoa powder that was screwing me.  Damn you Theobromine!  It’s Christmas!!  😦

