Christmas present for myself – bro day

I borrowed a John Meadows workout (not stealing this and selling it John, please no cease and desist orders. Don’t shut down mah internet!). But I added on a little extra at the front end, because I know my trainer would want me to do 8 movements and not 6 Anyhoo, Meadows workouts rock, so may as well make my free day as awesome as possible.

Another thing my trainer wants me to do is rebuild my House of Cardio’s, so I signed up for a spin class. Spin first, Arms after.

Cardio: Spin class, 45 min of work, HIIT, intervals, hills, standing climbs, seated climbs, straight on races, lots of fun times. I haven’t done one in a while, so I am sure my legs will be tired, plus glutes, plus a sore buttbone. Nary a hot chick to be seen, what a pity. OK, to be fair, I sat in FRONT of the hot chicks and stuck my butt in THEIR face. Merry Christmas.

Preacher Curl Machine (keep full ROM, 60 sec of rest b/w sets)

50 x 8
70 x 8
90 x 8
90 x 8
90 x 8

Standing DB Curls (use Fat Gripz, keep hands supinated, 3 sec negative on each rep, 60 sec rest)

10s x 15
15s x 15
30s x 6
30s x 6
30s x 6

notes: could have maybe gone heavier, but with slow negs, it can be hard to guesstimate your weight off the start. Haven’t used the Fat Gripz in a while, welcome back!

EZ Bar Curls (Fat Gripz, 60s rest)

75 x 8
75 x 7
75 x 5
75 x 6, REST 20, 4 reps, REST 10, 2.5 reps

notes: I started to fade fast on this one, damn you Fat Gripz. I could have done some sloppy ones, but I wanted every rep to be correct and controlled, no lean back. On the last set, I would set it down, rest a little but, try to pump out a few more. Bar Curls are always tough on me, really makes the tendinitis flare, but I don’t think it will get me this time.

Standing DB Hammer Curls (60s rest)

40s x 8 reps, 8 partials
40s x 8 reps, 3 partials
40s x 8 reps, 7 partials

notes: by partials, it means just bring it up as close to halfway as you can, chit, even a handful of inches feels like hell at that point. I was just focusing on getting those full reps out, and had so little left for the partials. Forearms were fried, biceps were done.

Tricep Pushdown Machine (preacher style setup, 60 s rest)

50 x 8
70 x 8
90 x 8
100 x 8
110 x 8

Superset Rope Pushdowns and Pronated DB Kickbacks (spread the rope at the bottom and flex for 1 second each rep; kickbacks your palm stays pronated the whole time)

90 x 10 / 20s x 6
100 x 10 / 20s x 6
100 x 10 / 25s x 6
100 x 10 / 25s x 6

notes: 100 was the sweet spot for pushdowns, flexing for 1 second at peak contraction felt like murder! To the Mountain Dog’s credit, I like pronated kickbacks way more than neutral grip, I feel the squeeze much more in the triceps.

Decline Skullcrushers w/ Cambered Bar (put on the elbow sleeves, 60s rest)

60 x 15
60 x 15
60 x 15

notes: kept these tight and controlled, doing that on a bar is much easier than dumbbells, but it gets harder on the elbow so I used the sleeves.

I was thinking of doing Ab work after this, but I had passed the 2 hour mark and felt wrecked! Packed up my crap and went home.

Hope everyone has had a good weekend!

