Massage session last night, tore up my shoulders, hams, my back. I was still recovering today, but showed up to put in some light work.

warm-up: nada

Superset Overhead Press and Assisted Pullups (pullups assisted for 1/3 BW, minimal rest)

45 x 5 / 5 hammergrip
65 x 5 / 5
90 x 3 / 5
105 x 2 / 5
115 x 1 / 5

move to straight sets of OHP, elbow sleeves on, increase rest to 3 min

130 x 6 @RPE8
130 x 6 @RPE8.5
130 x 6 @RPE8
130 x 4 @RPE8.5

notes: The second set had a bit of grind towards the end, but I didn’t want to call it, was rewarded with another good set, maybe it was just me warming up or lack of focus or something. On the 4th set, I grabbed the bar totally unevenly, I must not have been paying attention. I tried one awkward rep, reracked it and went again, but I was already done in my head, I did 4 reps but it still felt uneven and awkward even though this time it wasn’t… form was gone, so I called it there.

Front Squats (Romaleos, SBDs, minimal rest)

45 x 5
60 x 5
85 x 3
95 x 2
110 x 1

120 x 6 @RPE8
120 x 6 @RPE8.5

notes: Core didn’t feel strong already on the second top set, so I gave up and moved on. I was also having problems getting my feet set, trying to adjust them to be even in the mirror kept making me do it backwards, and looking down at my feet is awkward with a bar in front of me, so I need more practice setting my feet obviously.

Glute-Ham Raises (90 sec rest)

10, 9, 10

notes: right away, my low back got damn sore. I could feel it ready to seize, so I figured I should wrap this workout up soon.

Hex Bar Shrugs (thick grip, up and back on every rep, 90s rest)

330 x 10
330 x 12
330 x 9

notes: Once I was over 300, my grip became the limiting factor on these. 280 last week was no big deal, but 330 felt like a struggle the whole way, which is consistent with my Farmers Walk issues a few weeks back. I think I have found my weight for now

My low back was getting stiffer by the minute, so I said F the abs work and F the cardio and packed up and went home.

One side-benefit of ending the workout after shrugs was that I noticed in the locker room mirror that my traps still had a pump so fresh they had the factory sticker still on them I couldn’t get a good selfie of my traps, so you will have to take my word for it for now

Rest day tomorrow, and my low back could sure use it! I might still do some cardio though if I am feeling good.

