No more hiding out in my home, sick. Time to get shit done. Off to work I went.

Throat was still a bit sore at work today, but I was determined to get in a bit of volume that I had been missing from the past few workouts.

warm-up: nada

Damn, the gym was full of nice ladies today! Good looking ladies with muscle tone with great focus and form… and dudes who went as heavy as possible with poor form. Ain’t that always the way.

Superset Overhead Press and Assisted Pullups (pullups assisted for 1/3 BW, minimal rest)

45 x 5 / 5 hammergrip
65 x 5 / 5
95 x 3 / 5
105 x 2 / 5
120 x 1 / 5

move to straight sets of OHP, elbow sleeves on, increase rest to 3 min

132.5 x 6 @RPE8
132.5 x 6 @RPE8
132.5 x 6 @RPE8
132.5 x 6 @RPE8
132.5 x 6 @RPE8.5

notes: Everything felt good today. No concerns. Bit of a hitch on Set 5, so I stopped it there.

Front Squats (Romaleos, SBDs, minimal rest)

45 x 5
65 x 5
90 x 3
100 x 2
115 x 1

increase rest to 3 min

125 x 6 @RPE8
125 x 6 @RPE8
125 x 6 @RPE8
125 x 6 @RPE8
125 x 6 @RPE8.5

notes: Again, everything felt really good. Most comfortable session learning how to front squat yet! One day, decent weights will be mine. Not in a rush though, slowly building.

Glute Bridges (60 sec rest)

135 x 12
135 x 12
135 x 12

notes: at risk to my masculinity, I did a bum exercise. That’s ok, ladies like man bums. My reasoning being I wanted to make sure my hams and glutes got in some work this week. Weight wasn’t heavy, but I really tried to focus on a hard contraction at the top. Like I’m trying to open a pickle jar with my butt. It also set me up for the next exercise.

After the bridges, I did some low-back releases: supported Waterfall, prone spinal twists. Low back was tight.

Glute-Ham Raises (60 sec rest)

10, 8, 6

notes: Have been much more tight with my GHR form lately, and consequently they have gotten much harder, lol. These got real hard real quick.

Again, after the GHR I did more low-back releases. Low back felt pumped after all those twists! Lots of fresh blood.

Hex Bar Shrugs (thick grip, up and back on every rep, 90s rest)

330 x 12
330 x 12
330 x 10

notes: Did a little better this week. I could have probably pumped out 12 on the last set, but I wanted good quality reps.

Low back was still mighty stiff, so I nixed the ab exercises and headed off to the locker room to see if my traps had a pump, lol.

Sadly, there was an Asian dude occupying the mirror the whole time, making sure his dress shirt was perfectly tucked in, so I decided to let him occupy top douchebag spot rather than trying to stare at my traps in the mirror.

Good workout! Felt good to work out as if I wasn’t sick. Even though I am still a little messed up.

