BUUHHHHHHH………. getting more sick! Can’t shake this cold. I bet it would go away faster if I would just stop working out lol. Too bad glutamine is worthless… I used to use it when I was working out and fighting off a bug at the same time on a cut… until the forums told me it did nothing and now I have no placebo to protect me.  /sarcasm

I went to work, and people were looking at me funny all day. I guess I looked like three handfuls of hammered ****, all pale and glassy-eyed. After work, I thought about it for a few minutes, then I tightened my big boy belt and went down to the gym for a minimum volume workout. Just do one top set and one backoff set, then call it a day.

warm-up: nada

High Bar Squats (Romaleos, SBDs)

80 x 5 (narrow stance, ATG, minimal rest)
130 x 5
185 x 3
210 x 2 (switch to medium stance and parallel)
240 x 1 (belt on, increase rest to 3 min)

264 x 6 @RPE9.5

250 x 6 @RPE8.5

notes: The top set felt heavy right away, I was not feeling too good. Even by rep 3 I could feel wobbly. I probably should have stopped at rep 5 and called that RPE9, but I was a stubborn ass and went for a 6th rep, and had a major hitch halfway up and had to grind it out. At least now I can say with certainty that rep 5 with the minor grind was a 9, because rep 6 almost failed, and was a 9.5. Still learning this RPE stuff, and sometimes you need to go past a 9 to be sure what a 9 really is. Make sense?

Bench Press

55 x 5 (minimal rest, change weight and go again, Spoto)
95 x 5
130 x 3
150 x 2
165 x 1

185 x 6 @RPE<8 (sleeves on, change to paused reps, increased rest to 3 min)

170 x 6 @RPE<8

notes: Had to fight with a guy for the bench.

Deadlift (barefoot)

100 x 5 (minimal rest, conventional grip)
165 x 5
230 x 3
260 x 2 (change to crossgrip)
295 x 1 (belt on, rest went up to 3 min)

330 x 6 @RPE8

320 x 6 @RPE8

notes: I messed up on the 260 set. It was supposed to be 265, but I loaded a 5 lb plate on one side and a 10 lb plate on the other. You would think I wouldn’t notice it, but it immediately felt like my grip was off centre, and I thought I was holding it wrong until I stripped the plates and noticed my mistake. I am like the Princess and the Pea, I notice every little imbalance on the bar.

Like I said, I did minimal volume to save my energy to fight off this bug, got my shit done and went home.

