So glad to be back in the gym! It has been a painful absence. Real glad to be in a dingy basement warehouse gym with clanging plates and strong dudes and buckets of chalk. Srs.

A lot of ppl were sick today, so I didn’t always have help timing me, or checking my form as I learn the events, so I just motored ahead and did the best I could.

Strongman Event Day

Farmer’s Walks (approx. 2-3 min rest b/w sets)

130 lb each hand; walk 50 ft under 10 seconds
180 / hand; 50 ft under 10 sec
180 / hand; 50 ft under 10 sec
180 / hand; 50 ft under 10 sec
180 / hand; 50 ft under 10 sec
130 / hand; 50 ft under 10 sec

notes: watched the clock on the wall as often as I could to see if I was sub 10s.

Atlas Stones (approx. 2 min b/w singles)

170 lb stone to a 52″ platform
170 lb stone, 52″
170 lb stone, 52″
170 lb stone, 52″
170 lb stone, 52″
170 lb stone, 52″
170 lb stone, 52″
170 lb stone, 52″
170 lb stone, 52″
170 lb stone, 52″

notes: yup, just a lot of singles. not all that heavy, just learn the form. After about 5 singles, a guy walked over and said I was gripping it too low and putting too much weight on my biceps. So I was able to practice gripping more from an “overhand hug” for a while. No tacky used. After a couple of singles, my forearms started to scrape up again, so I put on my long sleeved hoodie and that helped a lot. One of these days I need to buy tape or something.

I wanted to use the Yoke, and I heard another guy there planned to go outside and do it (freezing cold parking lot!), but he was cleaning and pressing the axle, so I waited until he was done, and decided to pass the time.

Reverse Hyperextensions (30-60 sec rest)

10, 10, 10, 6

notes: it was a pneumatic pressure machine so I don’t know how much weight it was, nor how to increase or decrease the pressure, but by Set 4 it was getting hard to get that good contraction in. So it was appropriate.

After the reverse hypers, I sat for 5 min, and watched my yoke buddy do continental cleans of a big axle with giant tires on each end

Yoke Carry (take turns with buddy, change weights and talk for 30 secs, lol)

340 lb yoke for 75 ft, in under 14 seconds
340 lbs for 75 ft, 12.6 seconds
340 lbs for 100 ft, ~16 seconds

notes: yay! someone to use the stopwatch, lol. I didn’t bother to use a belt, I just wanted to get comfortable with the implement. It was a somewhat full parking lot so we had to be careful! I could have done more sets, but it was cold and the other guy was done (he was carrying like 640!), so we took it back apart and schlepped it back inside and down the stairs to the basement.

Fun session! I think I have found a new home

