Decided to test my 1RM in Sumo DL and Front Squats, and make that my baseline for future programming.

Please bear in mind I had only conventional DL’ed and regular Squatting at a heavy weight, so this was uncharted territory. I am perfectly ready to do some joker sets in my training if I get comfortable.

Sumo Deadlift (bare sock feet, generous rests)

bar x 5
135 x 3
225 x 2
*belt on*
275 x 1 WEIGHT PR FROM HERE ON
295 x 1
315 x 1
335 x 1
355 x 1
375 x FAIL

notes: Yeah, my heaviest ever Sumo was 255 a long time ago. So I knew it was out of date. Still, my heaviest conventional pull was 440 in November, so I am not totally pleased with 355. Even that 355 was a real grind the whole way, and I should probably have stopped there instead of adding 20 pounds. I think it’s relearning my explosion off the floor that is a big part of it, I felt like I lost a lot of speed really quickly. I got a lot of work ahead of me.

Front Squats (Romaleos and knee sleeves on, generous rests)

bar x 5 long pause on the last rep
95 x 3 long pause on the last rep
115 x 1
*belt on*
135 x 1
155 x 1
175 x 1 WEIGHT PR FROM HERE ON
195 x 1
215 x 1
235 x 1
255 x 1
275 x 1

notes: my heaviest front squat ever was 155 for reps, so I had high hopes for this one. I was relatively happy with 275. That 275 was a bit of a grind at the top, and I don’t want to fail a front squat, so I stopped there and called it a day.

Front squats seem to get much harder as the reps go up, so I think volume training at a lighter weight with these will help me the most.

With the long rests, that took a while, so I packed up my poop and went to look for some food.

But yeah, got a LOT of work ahead of me *tugs collar nervously*

