Today was both epic and not so awesome.

I went down to the Strongman Gym in the morning, to try out some implements I had not played with before. I pretty much just jumped in on what other people were doing.

Log Press

90 x 15
115 x 8

notes: I am no stranger to log press, I just thought it would be fun for a warmup.

One Arm DB OHP

I was able to borrow a more experienced person to watch me and give some tips on form. Well, he watched me for the first set, then I was kind of on my own, hahaha

22.5 x 10/10
30 x 10/10
40 x 10/10
50 x 10/10
thick 60 x 8/8
thick 60 x 7/7

notes: the 60 lb DB was actually what he was playing with, it had a thick handle and was awkward as fukk. Oh well, one day Circus DB you will be mine.

Car Deadlifts

Now for the epic part. They had a frame set-up outside, someone backed up their Honda Civic over it, and we went up to go lift it. I did not have my belt or the right shoes for it, so I just did it in my sock feet.

First attempt… NOPE, lol
They adjusted the pins and moved the handles further out. This makes it easier.
Second attempt, NOPE. But it budged a bit more. Have to edge my feet forward, lean BAAAACK, and press with the legs. I was warned not to overextend the lockout. I did not listen…
Third attempt… grind, grind, grind, YESSSSS!! Did it! But I overextended the lockout… the weight was now behind me… my back bowed BACKWARDS, and I got yanked down to the ground, landing on my ass.

I felt fine. But went to go do some prehab on my back, so I don’t wake up fucked up tomorrow.

As I sat on the grass, I realized the bottom of my left sock was shredded, and I had gravel embedded in my toes and sole. Sock shredded and bloody. Awesome.

I did some Rolls into a V Sit, to loosen up the spine. Then I did half-lotus sit for a while (like sitting crosslegged, except one leg stacks on top of the other). Then I foam rolled my upper back, and each lat. Then I lay lengthwise on the foam roller and did snow angels. Then I did a passive Yoga Waterfall pose with my legs up against the wall. Then I did kind of a wall-supported “Happy Baby” yoga pose. Then I did a wall-supported “dead pigeon” pose.

Yoga can be awesome for prehab and flexibility, glad I have it in my toolbelt.

I fucked off and went home. Napped on the couch.

Decided in the early evening to do my 2 a day workout, then sit in the hot tub. But the hot tub is still under maintenance, boo, lazy fuckin super.

PM Workout

Widegrip Lat Pulldowns (30 sec rests)

8 plates x 15
10p x 15
12p x 15
12p x 15
12p x 15

Leg Extensions (30 sec rests)

8p x 15
8p x 15
8p x 15

notes: should have started lighter and warmed up the knees. the first set was awkward

Leg Curls (30 sec rests)

4p x 15
4p x 15
4p x 15

Leg Raises (30 sec rests)

15, 15, 15

post: 15 min LISS

As I sit here, back feels damn tired. Crossing my fingers I don’t feel tweaked as fuck tomorrow.

