Strongman stuff at 8 AM in the morning. Got there, only me and one other guy, dead gym!

warmup: dorsiflexions; TKEs; straight leg heel raises
High Box Front Squats (Romaleos, SBDs, up to 2 min rests)
bar x 4
135 x 4
185 x 4
*belt on*
240 x 4
240 x 4
240 x 4
240 x 4
240 x 4
275 x 4

notes: tap and go. I kind of wanted to do more and go heavier, but I did quick math, and didn’t think I had time.

Axle Power Cleans (clean from floor, started with 4 min rests)
35 lb axle x 4
80 x 4
125 x 4
125 x 4
*dropped rests to 2 min*
125 x 4
125 x 4
125 x 4
125 x 4

notes: Grabbed a nice fat axle, fatter than last week. Ppl with small hands, beware. On the first set at 125 I ended up jamming my thumb like an idiot. I was using bumper plates, and I didn’t want the axle to bounce up 3 feet when it hit the ground, so I tried to control the drop, and the axle bounced up and jammed my thumb. It hurt, MFer. So after that, I just let it drop like a bomb every time (I was using padded mats). Since I was using an axle and collars don’t fit, I had to keep the bumper plates on with vice grips, so each time it bounced off the floor I had to reset the axle on the mats and readjust the vice grips that bounced loose, so each set was an ordeal. Oh, how I suffer for my art

I also dropped the rests to 2 minutes, since I didn’t know how much time I had before the other guy was going to leave and lock up the gym behind him.

Yoke and Farmers Walk Medley (3 min rests)
400 lb Yoke and 2×130 lb Farmers Walk implements – carry the yoke 10 metres, set it down, pick it back up and carry it back. then pick up the farmers, carry 10 metres, set them down, pick them back up and carry them back.

4 sets of that.

notes: my thumb was stiffening up, so the first set I pussied out and didn’t do the farmers. Mentally I kicked myself in the ass, and starting with Set 2, I did everything. Still, I did the Farmers Walk with a thumbless grip.

Even as I type this, my thumb has no strength, so I am going to skip the evening workout and let my grip rest. I WANT to do Deadlifts tomorrow, and I am really hoping this heals up quick

