I am realizing that a thumbless grip isn’t a perfect solution… my forefinger, the next finger down on my hurt hand, is starting to get stiff and sore. I will have to be careful on the volume and the high reps while I tax my grip with weird stuff.

AM Workout

warmup: foam roll upper back, armpits; prone banded dislocations; Y Handcuffs; kneeling thoracic extensions; shoulder capsule stretches; 6-way DB Raises

Seated Smith Machine Shoulder Press (90 sec rests)

bar x 8
bar + 50 x 8
+70 x 8
+80 x 8
+90 x 8
+100 x 8

notes: figured if I couldn’t get in the DB cleans in the evening, would try to get some extra shoulder work in.

post: 15 min cardio

Just ran out of time, had to go back to work. Workout ended up being half rehab and half shoulder reppin it out stuff, not a lot of volume overall.

I was supposed to do heavy shoulder work in the evening, but plans got cancelled and no one was there to open up the strongman gym, so I wouldn’t have a log to use, and I wouldn’t be able to do the shoulder work I WANT, so I called an audible and went to a commercial gym for some deadlifts.

PM Workout

warmup: none

Deadlifts (thumbless, generous rests, SABOs)

160 x 5
200 x 5
240 x 5
*belt on*
315 x 2
370 x 2
370 x 2

notes: took long rests at the start because my low back hadn’t warmed up yet and it was stiff and sore. By the end if felt good though.

It was at this point I realized how my forefinger was doing, so I decided no block pulls, and moved on.

Closegrip Cable Rows (90 sec rests)

130 x 12
140 x 12
150 x 12
160 x 12

Bicep Curl Machine (90 sec rests)

4 plates x 20
5p x 20
6p x 20
7p x 18

notes: the machine is awkward, it keeps my arms moving in a set track of movement, but its hard to get direct bicep work in right now so I take what I can get.

Both workouts felt lame, like I had a lot left in the tank, but I have to be conservative right now I guess. Grip is healing and I had to make due with less than ideal schedule circumstances.

