Work has been a huge drain on me lately, just nonstop, with the looming threat of a paycut approaching. I am stoic though. Gotta appear happy… for the kids.

Late night worktrout. Gonna try out the Inzer knee sleeves.

warmup: dorsiflexions, TKEs

Low Bar Squats (Romaleos, Inzer knees, long rests)

135 x 5
185 x 5
225 x 5
*belt on*
275 x 9
275 x 8
275 x 8

notes: the verdict on the knee sleeves? I like my neoprene SBDs better, but then again these days they are tight as a nun, and twice as hard to get into. (that’s one of those old school boys club jokes that felt out of fashion 20 years ago, lol)

But seriously, I would retighten them just for practice in between sets. If there is a size difference with your lower thigh, and the area below your knee (like with me), then its almost like the sleeve is too loose below my knee, and just perfect above my knee, so if it slips downwards at all, then it grows much looser very quickly. What I would really like is a tapered knee sleeve, but maybe that would have to be tailormade.

Front Squats (shoes, sleeves, short rests)

210 x 4
210 x 6
210 x 5

notes: these SUCKED. front squats grow exponentially harder as I go up in reps lol. It would be easier for me to do 280 x 1, then 135 x 10. If I ever get serious about conditioning, I should do these, lol.

So I was sitting there, sore knees from squats, considering whether to do more squats. I was debating switching to leg press, then it hit me like a lightning bolt!!! I can use the leg press to help train my deadlift… necessity truly is the mother of invention, LMAO. I was using paused squats to train the weak points of my squat, but its strongman season right now, and I don’t see any squat events coming up… so, better to hone my deadlift leg drive, which I DO see coming up at various events. Plus now I get more leg work done, as clearly the limiting factor on my squats is my core strength.

Leg Press (short rests, feet low on platform and in deadlift stance)

12 plates x 12
12p x 12
12p x 12

It was getting late now, so I split and came home.

