Have to be honest, motivation has been completely in the toilet these days. All I want to do is sleep and do nothing. I was able to drag myself to the gym tonight after work, but it was so painful, I actually just sat in the cubicle for an extra 2 hours, just putting off going to the gym. Out of 10, my drive is about a 1 right now. It was a fight I lost on Saturday, it was a fight I lost on sunday, but tonight, I actually made it to the gym.

I knew I had to do deadlifts, but the only thoughts in my head were ‘you can’t lift this, your back isn’t up to it, just don’t do it’

And somehow, I went through with it. Showed up to an empty gym, and went to work.

Deadlifts (long rests, sock feet, no belt)

135 x 3
225 x 3
315 x 3
405 x 2
430 x 2
445 x 1
455 x 1
385 x 4 (Romanian style, with a pause just off the ground)

notes: despite my self-doubt, the reps felt fine, and moved fast. For my backoff set, I didn’t let the plates touch the ground, I wanted to keep my back loaded, and with a brief pause at the bottom while hovering off the ground.

At this point, another guy showed up in the strongman gym, which was a welcome relief, because it would keep me from getting into my own head too much.

Bent Over Rows (2 min rests, straps)

225 x 6
225 x 8
225 x 8
225 x 6

notes: I wanted to save my grip for later and just keep working the back, but even with straps, the underside of my forearm was throbbing.

One Arm DB Rows (2 min rests)

40 x 10/10
80 x 10/10
*straps on*
120 x 13 left side
2 min rest
120 x 13 right side

notes: I wanted to do an all out set at a STUPID weight. So saved the grip, back to the straps. At about rep 13, I ended up getting a charliehorse in my RIGHT trap, my off-trap from the pulling side. So I kept it balanced and only did 13 on the right side, after spending two minutes stretching out my upper back and traps.

Frame Shrugs (90 sec rests, no straps)

340 x 10
340 x 10
340 x 10

notes: I thought this would help me stretch out my traps, plus finish my grip. After this, my hands were throbbing from the cold iron frame, so I called it a day after this.

