The goal today was a short and sweet workout with perhaps a PR! Intensity high, volume low, see how the weights feel.

warmup: light leg extensions, light leg curls, TKEs, calf rises, dorsiflexions

Low Bar Squats (long rests, Romaleos, knee sleeves, no belt)

135 x 2
225 x 2
315 x 1
335 x 2
345 x 1
355 x 1
300 x 6

notes: weights felt good! I might give squats a run for the title next week, but for now I moved on.

Yoke Walk (medium rests, street shoes)

340 for 25 feet
340 for 25 feet
430 for 25 feet
520 for 25 feet
605 for 25 feet
705 for 25 feet PR!!

notes: yessss…. I haven’t made an attempt at a Yoke PR since June. We have a rattly/jiggly yoke, and it gets worse as you add weight. I find that if you curse and swear while you walk with it, then it stays stable LOL

I can expect to see 700 lb yokes at the avg comp next summer, so I am ahead of the game on yoke. This was heavy but moved well, so I can work now on going heavier in practice so that comps will feel extra light. I mean, the rest of my events are sheeeeeeiiittttt, but at least I got yoke in a good place

I was going to do some assistance at this point, but my ride to the strongman gym had thrown up from PR’ing Deadlifts, and wanted to go home, so…. no loss for calling it at that point. Super short session!

